This is the "Federal Rules" page of the "Court Rules" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Court Rules  

This guide provides a list of print and online sources sources for court rules available in the UCLA Law Library.
Last Updated: Dec 6, 2011 URL: http://libguides.law.ucla.edu/courtrules Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Federal Rules Print Page
  Search: 
 

Overview

Court rules govern the procedures used within each court system, as well as the practices litigants must follow in a particular court.  Court rules enable the business of the court to run smoothly by putting parties on notice as to what is expected of them.  For a detailed description of the different types of court rules and an explanation of how court rules are promulgated, see Roy M. Mersky and Donald J. Dunn, The Fundamentals of Legal Research, Foundation Press, 2009.  KF240 .B37 2009

      
     

    Treatises

    Federal Civil Rules Handbook, St. Paul, Minn.:  West Pub. Co. (Reference Reading Room)  KF8816 .A1936

    Federal Criminal Rules Handbook, St. Paul, Minn.:  West Group, 2000-.  KF9606.99 F43

    Federal Practice and Procedure (Wright & Miller), St. Paul, Minn. West Pub. Co. 1969-.  KF8840 .W68

    Handbook of Federal Evidence, 5 vols, looseleaf.  KF8935 .G68 2006

    Moore's Federal Practice, New York, NY:  M. Bender, 1997-.  KF8820 .A313 M631

    A Student's Guide to the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure.  St. Paul, Minn.:  West Pub Co. 1997-. (Reserves)  KF8841 .S78

    A Student's Guide to the Federal Rules of Criminal Procedure, 2nd ed. St. Paul, Minn.:  Thomson West.  KF9607.52002 .L48 2006

     

    Annotated Rules

    Bot the USCA and the USCS have annotated versions of the federal rules, which include Advisory Committee notes. 

    United States Code Service, KF62 1972 .U5 (Titles 18 and 28)

    United States Code Annotated,  KF 62 1927 .W47 (Titles 18 and 28)

    The Law Library also has several commercially published sets of federal rules. 

    Federal Rules of Civil Procedure With Selected Statutes and CasesNew York, NY:  Aspen Pub., 1982-.  (Reserves)  KF 8816 .A195

    Federal Rules of Evidence and California Evidence Code, New York, NY:  Aspen Pub. 2003-.  (Reserves)  KFC1030 .A29 U55.

    Federal Civil Rules Handbook, St. Paul, Minn.:  West Pub. Co. (Reference Reading Room)  KF8816 .A1936

    Federal Criminal Rules Handbook, St. Paul, Minn.:  West Group, 2000-.  KF9606.99 F43

    Moore's Federal Rules Pamphlet, New York, NY:  Matthew Bender, 1997-.  KF8816 .A198

     

    Decisions Interpreting Federal Rules

    Federal Rules Decisions, St. Paul, Minn.:  West Pub Co.  1941-.  KF8830 .F4 

    Federal Rules Decisions is part of West's National Reporter System.  It publishes cases that construe the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure and the Federal Rules of Criminal Procedure.  It also contains all proposed rule changes.

    Federal Rules Service, St. Paul, Minn.:  West Pub Co.  1939-.  KF8830 .F52 

    The Federal Rules Service publishes cases that interpret the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure and the Federal Rules of Appellate Procedure. 

     

    Unannotated Rules

    All federal rules are published by the U.S. government.  They can be found in Title 18 (Federal Rules of Criminal Procedure) and Title 28 (Federal Rules of Civil Procedure, Appellate Procedure and Evidence) of the United States Code  (KF62 1994 .A2). 

    In addition to being printed in the United States Code, all federal rules are published as committee prints by the House Judiciary Committee. 

    Federal Rules of Appellate Procedure with forms, Y 4.J 89/1-10

    Federal Rules of Criminal Procedure, Y .4.J 89/1-12

    Federal Rules of Civil Procedure, with forms, Y 4.J89/1-11

    Federal Rules of Evidence, Y 4.J 89/1-13

    Federal Civil Judicial Procedure and Rules, St. Paul, Minn:  West Pub. Co. 1985-.  KF8816 .A193

    Federal Criminal Code and Rules, St. Paul, Minn:  West Pub Co. 1985-.  KF9606.99 .D567

    Federal Rules of Court, LexisNexis, 1996-.  KF8816 .A1942

    Federal Rules of Court,  Los Angeles, CA:  Metropolitan News-Enterprise, 1989-.  (Reference Reading Room)  KF8816 .A2 1989-. 

    California Rules of Court--Federal District Courts. St. Paul, Minn.:  West Pub Co.,  KFC 992 A197

    California Rules of Court--Federal Bankruptcy Courts. St. Paul, Minn.:  West Pub. Co.  KFC 992 A197

    Federal Local Court Rules, West Group, 2001-.  KF8820 .A2 2001.  Provides the federal local court rules for all 50 states.

     

    Online Sources

    Federal Court Rules (Administrative Office of the U.S. Courts)

    Federal Local Court Rules (Administrative Office of the U.S. Courts)

    Federal Rules of Evidence (Federal Evidence Review)

    Federal Rules E-books (Cornell University Law School)

    Lexis:  USCS--Federal Rules Annotated

    Westlaw: US-RULES


    HUGH & HAZEL DARLING LAW LIBRARY • UCLA SCHOOL OF LAW
    385 CHARLES E. YOUNG DRIVE, EAST • LOS ANGELES, CA 90095-1458 • PHONE: 310.825.4743

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip