Native American Law Guide: Federal Indian Law & Tribal Law Materials: Treaties

The US National Archives holds 374 treaties, where they are known as the Ratified Indian Treaties. Here you can view them alongside key historic works.

Hein's American Indian Law Collection now includes a comprehensive list of 418 Native American treaties, which are primarily derived from the Kappler index published in U.S. Statutes at Large. Of HeinOnline’s comprehensive index of 418 Native American treaties, 416 include full text coverage. HeinOnline also contains nine additional agreements not identified by Kappler, seven of which were with Great Britain and still recognized by the United States today.

Treaties identified by Charles Kappler (digital collection available through Oklahoma State University Library). Contains volumes 1-7.

This collection includes the nine additional treaties (as described above) that are not included in Kappler's compilation.

This page links to documents associated with the Jay Treaty of 1794 (by Yale Law School, Avelon Project).

Volume 7 contains the text of Indian treaties entered into between 1778 and 1845.

Compiled by Vine Deloria, Jr. and Raymond J. DeMallie, University of Oklahoma Press, c1999.
Online access (click on link above) and in print in Law Library Stacks: KF 8202 1999 (2 vols.)

Compiled under the supervision of the Commissioner of Indian Affairs, Langtree and O'Sullivan, 1837.
KF 8202 1837 (Second Floor, Law Library Stacks)

From 1787 through 1883. Via LexisAdvance (ID/password req'd).

Francis Paul Prucha, University of California Press, c1994.
Links to eBook.
Also in Law Library Stacks: KF 8205 .P75 1994

Francis Jennings, ed., Syracuse University Press, 1985.
E 99 .I7 H63 1985 (Law Library Stacks)

Blue Clark, University of Nebraska Press, c1994.
KF 228 .L66 C58 1994 (Law Library Stacks)

Jill St. Germain, University of Nebraska Press, c2001.
KF 8205 .S714 2001 (Law Library Stacks)

Vine Deloria, University of Texas Press, 1999.
KF 8210 .C5 D45 1999 (Law Library Stacks)

Donald L. Fixico, ed., ABC-CLIO, c2008.
Location: KF 8203.6 .T74 2008 (Law Library Stacks and YRL Reference Reading Room)

Jeffrey R. Dudas, Stanford University Press, c2008.
KF 8205 .D83 2008 (Law Library Stacks & YRL)

Bruce E. Johansen, ed., Praeger, 2004.