Important Note About Access to Databases
Be sure to read the Database Access Guide carefully before beginning your research.
Guide Outline
- U.S. Constitution
- Federal Legislative Branch Resources
- Federal Courts & Case Law
- Federal Administrative Law Resources
- California
- Local Government Law
- Free Legal Forms
- Research Guides
- Dictionaries, Acronyms, Directories
- Attorney Directories
- Legal News & Blogs
- Law Reviews & Journals
- Self-Help
- UCLA Law Students: Summer Alternatives to Westlaw & Lexis
Selected Bibliography
Ard, Constance. "Legal Research in the Age of Open Law," Online (Oct. 2010), 34(5): 29-32.
Chandler, Yvonne J. "Accessing Legal and Regulatory Information in Internet Resources and Documents," Journal of Library Administration (2006), 44 (1/2): 263-324.
Ebbinghouse, Carol. "The New Surge of Open Legal Information on the Internet," Searcher (June 2008), 16(6): 8-16.
________. "The People's Law: Free Legal Help and Legal Research on the Web," Searcher (April 2006), 14(4): 38-44.
Markoff, John. "A Quest to Get More Court Rulings Online, and Free," New York Times, Aug. 20, 2007: 6.
Moore, Wendy E. "Fantastic Facts about the 50 States: Websites for State Legal Research," University of Georgia School of Law, Continuing Legal Education Presentations (Mar. 28, 2011). [26-page PDF]
Pike, George H. "Evaluating Free Online Legal Information," Online (Sept/Oct. 2008), 32(5): 20-23.
Introduction
As the title indicates, the primary focus of this guide is to spotlight free (or low cost) online legal resources. Sources available through Westlaw or Lexis are not included. However, please note that I have included subscription databases available to the UCLA and UCLAW community. Lastly, except for the short selected bibliography on this page, print resources are not covered.
As the length of this guide suggests, there is no shortage of law-related materials available on the Internet. The challenge is to locate accurate and authoritative sources of legal information. Please keep in mind that you won't find everything you need for free on the Internet. For example, West's annotated codes and most legal treatises/practice guides (e.g. Rutter Group and Matthew Bender publications) are not freely available on the Web.
Also keep in mind that it may be easier to start your research using print sources. This is especially true if you are having difficulty identifying search terms. Using a print source allows you to flip through pages and scan the index and table of contents. Hence, when applicable, there will be links to other libguides that describe the use of print resources.
SCALL's Locating the Law
The new edition of Locating the Law: A Handbook for Non-Law Librarians is freely available for download in its entirety or one may view individual chapters and appendices. Below is the table of contents.
Chapter 1: Introduction
Chapter 2: How to Read a Legal Citation
Chapter 3: Basic Legal Research Techniques
Chapter 4: Legal Reference vs. Legal Advice
Chapter 5: California Law
Chapter 6: Bibliography of California Resources
Chapter 7: Federal Law
Chapter 8: Bibliography of Federal Law Resources
Chapter 9: Assisting Self-Represented Litigants
Chapter 10: Bibliography of Self-Help Resources
Chapter 11: Availability, Accessibility and Maintenance of Legal Collections
Chapter 12: Major Law Publishers
Appendix A: Glossary of Legal Terms
Appendix B: Common Abbreviations in the Law
Appendix C: California County Law Libraries
Appendix D: California Law Schools
Other Legal Research Sites
These "one stop shopping" sites provide users with a myraid of links to law-related materials on the Internet. They provide users with a catalog of Web sites, a search engine or both.
- Hieros Gamos
- WashLaw
- vLex
- Megalaw.com
- Internet Legal Research Group
- American Law Sources Online
- CataLaw
None of these sites are featured extensively in this guide but are worth a mention. Their aim is to expand public access to legal information.
- Public.Resource.org
- Google Scholar (select Legal Opinions & Journals)
- OpenJurist
My Profile |
Links: Profile & Guides |
Quick Links
The following Web sites are referenced throughout this guide.
Other Guides
- Georgetown's Free & Low Cost Legal Research Guide
- Pace's Free & Low Cost Resources for Legal Research
- The Law Student Guide to Free Legal Research on the InternetSarah Glassmeyer, sponsored by Cornell's Legal Information Institute and Justia and is hosted by CALI.
- AALL's Public Library ToolkitGeared toward public librarians, but helpful to all users new to legal research. State-specific toolkits and other helpful links.
Free Government Information (FGI) Blog
Initiated by Jim A. Jacobs, James R. Jacobs, Shinjoung Yeo, three librarians at UC San Diego, along with Daniel Cornwall, librarian at the Alaska State Library, and James Staub, librarian at the Tennessee State Library, in order to raise public awareness of the importance of gov't information and create a community with various stakeholders to facilitate an open and critical dialogue.


Loading...
