Regulations: More Sources
This site is an alternative interface to the federal government's Regulations.gov site. The aim is to present a simplified and easy-to-use index of federal register notices, including notices of proposed rulemaking. Offers an individual RSS feed for each federal agency.
Researchers can find federal proposed and final rules and submit comments through the Web site to the agencies on proposed rules that are open for public comment. Users can also find other types of documents open for public comment, such as agency significant guidance.
LII's Code of Federal Regulations
Links to the most recent version of the CFR placed on the Internet by the GPO. May retrieve sections by citation (title & section) or browse by title. There is also a link (on the right) to the LII index of all section headings, which is recommended as a first search.
FindLaw's Code of Federal Regulations
May search by keyword or by section. Go to the Federal Register to find rules not yet added to the CFR and/or finalized by federal agencies or executive departments. The Federal Register publishes all rules, proposed rules, and noticies made by federal agencies, as well as executive orders and other presidential documents.
LexisNexis Academic Universe (UC)
Go to the Search, Legal page and click on "Federal & State Codes." Open the "Sources" drop-down menu (under the search box) and select either the Code of Regulations (current within 2 weeks of publication) or the Federal Register (from July, 1, 1980 through current).
HeinOnline (UCLA)
UCLA is a subscriber, so please click on the "Subscribers Click Here to Enter" in the green bar at the top of the screen. Includes the following 2 libraries.
- Code of Federal Regulations/Federal Register Title and Part Quick Locator Coverage: 1938 to 2008 (as of March 10, 2009). May browse by year, title, and index and finding aids.
- Federal Register Library Includes the Federal Register (from 1936-2008), the Federal Register Indexes, the CFR List of Sections Affected (1960-1980), and the CFR Compilation of Sections Affected (1949-2000).
- U.S. Federal Agency Documents, Decisions, and Appeals Includes the Administrative Decisions under the Immigration and Nationality Laws (1940-2006), Decisions and Orders of the National Labor Relations Board (1935-2007), Environmental Administrative Decisions (1972-2006), and many more.
Regulations
The e-CFR is an editorial compilation of CFR material and Federal Register amendments produced by the National Archives and Records Administration's Office of the Federal Register (OFR) and the Government Printing Office. The OFR updates the material in the e-CFR on a daily basis.
GPO Access' Regulatory Resources
GPO Access provides online access to the full text of the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR), the Federal Register, and the List of CFR Sections Affected (LSA). Links and brief descriptions are provided below.
- Code of Federal Regulations (CFR)
The CFR is the codification of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by the executive branch departments & agencies. It is divided into 50 titles that represent broad areas subject to federal regulation. - Federal Register
The Federal Register is the official daily publication for rules, proposed rules, and notices of Federal agencies, as well as executive orders and other presidential documents. - List of CFR Sections Affected (LSA)
Lists proposed, new, and amended federal regulations that have been published in the Federal Register since the most recent revision date of a CFR title. Issued monthly.
Presidential Materials
The American Presidency Project
This project was established in 1999 as a collaboration between John Woolley and Gerhard Peters at the University of California, Santa Barbara. The Document Archive contains over 86,000 documents related to the study of the presidency and includes the Messages and Papers of the Presidents (Washington to Taft, 1789-1913), The Public Papers of the President (Hoover to Bush, 1929-1993), as well as thousands of other documents such as party platforms, candidates' remarks, formal farewell addresses, and much more.
The White House Briefing Room's Presidential Actions
Includes recent Executive Orders, Presidential Memoranda, and Proclamations.
Codification of Presidential Proclamations and Executive Orders (via NARA)
Provides access to the edited and re-arranged text of Presidential Proclamations and Executive Orders from April 13, 1945 to January 20, 1989. It offers in once convenient reference source proclamations and Executive orders with general applicability and continuing effect. This page also include a link to the Executive Orders Disposition Tables, which begins with E.O. 7532, January 8, 1937 to present, and includes title, signature date, Federal Register citation, and detailed history of amendments and revocations.
FDsys’ Compilation of Presidential Documents
The Compilation of Presidential Documents collection consists of the Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents and the Daily Compilation of Presidential Documents, which are the official publications of materials released by the White House Press Secretary. From 1993 to present.
GPO Access' Presidential Materials
Access the Budget of the United States Government, the Economic Report of the President, the Federal Register (which includes executive orders and proclamations), the Public Papers of the President, State of the Union Addresses, and the Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents.
- Public Papers of the President Currently contains the Public papers for Presidents George H.W. Bush, Clinton, and George W. Bush. Each volume contains the papers and speeches issued by the Office of the Press Secretary and is presented in chronological order.
- State of the Union Addresses In text and PDF. Includes the State of the Union addresses from George W. Bush, William J. Clinton, and one address from George H.W. Bush.
- Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents Published every Monday and is the official publication of presidential statements, messages, remarks and other materials released by the White House Press Secretary. Available from 1993 forward.
- Federal Register (Advanced Search) The official daily publication for rules, proposed rules and notices as well as executive orders and other presidential documents. Use the Advanced Search and limit your search to "Presidential documents."
Presidential Materials: Subscription databases
LexisNexis Academic Universe (UC)
Go to the "Sources" tab and select the button "Browse Sources" just below the tab. Open the folder "Administrative Materials & Regulations." Then, open the subfolder "Executive Materials," which includes Executive Orders (from July 1, 1980 through current) and the Public Papers of Presidents (from March 24, 1979 through Jan. 26, 2009 (as of Mar. 10, 2009)). May search both sources together by checking the boxes and clicking on "OK-Continue."
HeinOnline's U.S. Presidential Library (UCLA)
Includes the Public Papers of the Presidents (1931-2004), Compilation of Messages and Papers of the Presidents (1987-1916), the Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents (1965 to 2008, as of 3-10-09), and much more.
Related resources
University of Virginia Library, Government Information Resources, Administrative Decisions & Other Actions—By Agency
This page links to other administrative actions that are outside the scope of the CFR or the FR. Alphabetical by agency and by subject.
- U.S. Government Manual
Provides comprehensive information on the agencies of the federal gov't. Also includes information on quasi-official agencies, int'l organizations in which the U.S. participates, boards, commissions, and committees. - Federal Agency Directory (via Louisiana State Univ. Libraries)
Lists current/active/existing U.S. federal government agencies as represented in the U.S. Government Manual. No annotation provided. This index is for people who already know what they are looking for, but don't know the URL. - USA.gov's A-Z Index of U.S. Gov't Depts & Agencies Alphabetical (and hyperlinked) list of federal agencies.
- Catalog of U.S. Government Publications Researchers can identify federal agency publications by searching by authorizing agency, title, subject. or general keyword. Includes descriptive records for historical and current publications and provides links to those that are available online.
- Federal Citizen Information Center's National Contact Center Provides a gateway to news and press release websites throughout the U.S. Government.
- CyberCemetery A collection by the Univ. of North Texas Libraries & the U.S. GPO to provide permanent public access to the Web sites and publications of defunct U.S. gov't agencies and commissions.
- Forms.gov The U.S. Government's official hub for federal forms. Locate form by entering search terms; search by agency list or by form name. Also links to frequently used forms.
Link to related guide
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait