California Ballot Measures
- UC Hastings Law Library's California Ballot Measures Databases
Includes the California Ballot Propositions Database (from 1911 to 2000) and the California Ballot Initiatives Database (from 1911 to 2000). - California Attorney General For current information and full text of initiatives (2004 to current).
- California Secretary of State For current information and full text of propositions (1996 to current).
Local Government Research
- The California Municipal Law Handbook Published by the League of California Cities. A good place to start if new to municipal law. Provides references to other sources which may cover a particular topic in detail.
- California State Association of Counties Represents county governments before the California legislature, administrative agencies and the federal government. Provides links to California counties, county map, the cities within each county and demographic data.
- League of California Cities
An advocacy group of California city officials. Click on the "Information Resources" link on the left. From this page, notice the gray boxes at the top of the page appear (News Room, Advanced Search, Library, City Books, FAQs, City Search). - Los Angeles City Council From this page one may access the Council File Management System and do an Ordinance Search (see links under LA City Clerk Connect on right), and look up the City Charter Rules & Codes (on the bottom left, in blue toolbar).
- City of Los Angeles Organizational Chart A PDF copy of the organization of the city of Los Angeles.
California Bills & Legislation
If you are searching for bills (from the 1993-1994 legislative session to current), use the Official California Legislative Information Web site (listed below). Also use this site if you are doing a legislative history of a California law that passed no earlier than the 1993-1994 legislative session. Searching by bill number is the easiest and fastest way to do this.
If your California law was passed before 1993, please visit the California State Assembly Office of the Chief Clerk's Bills and the Legislature page (also discussed below) and browse the Historical Archives.
- Official California Legislative Information The official site for California legislative information. May access bill information, the California codes, and various legislative publications (including the Daily File, the Senate & Assembly Daily Journals, and a database of Agency Reports.
- California State Assembly, Office of the Chief Clerk
Provides quick links to the Assembly Daily File, Assembly Journals and Histories, as well as the Legislative Calendar and Rules. Access Official Publications Archives by clicking on the "Bills & Legislature" link on the left. - California Legislature Portal Access bill information, lists of standing committees and committee hearings, as well as the California Code, Statutes, Constitution, and other official publications.
- FindLaw's California Codes Links to official Web sites, but also allows users to search the California Constitution's Table of Contents, the California Codes, and California Statutes.
California Courts & Case Law
Judicial Council's California Courts
This link should take you directly to the "Opinions" page. Note that the "Opinions" link is located at the top left-hand corner of the screen. Slip opinions from the last 120 days are posted. Each opinion is provided in Word and Adobe Acrobat.
Also available is a searchable opinions database (1850 to present), which is updated monthly and are current to within 90 days of filing. Searching is free, but limited to personal use. Powered by LexisNexis.
Access the Judicial Council and Administrative Office of the Courts forms on the Forms section of the California Courts Web site. One may select a form group or browse a complete list of forms by form number, form name or by recent changes.
California Appellate Courts Case Information
This system provides case information for California Supreme Court and Court of Appeals cases. Case information is updated once an hour throughout the business day. Select a jurisdiction, then search by cse number, by party, by attorney or by case caption. Once you find your case, you may sign up for email notification of specific case activity (e.g. date of oral arguments).
Below are sites that also provide access to California case law.
- FindLaw's California Cases FindLaw offers free comprehensive California case law from 1934 to present. Must register.
- LexisOne's Free Case Law Search the last 10 years of California (and other state) and Federal court opinions. Note that U.S. Supreme Court decisions (from 1781 to present) are also accessible for free. Must register to view full text.
- LexisNexis Academic Universe (UC)
Restricted to UC campuses. Click on "Legal" button at the top of the screen, then select "Federal & State Cases." Under the Search box, click on the Sources drop-down menu and select "CA Federal & State Cases, Combined." - Public Library of Law Powered by FastCase. Access to cases from all 50 states back to 1997. Use "Advanced Search" box to limit by jurisdiction. Access is free, but registration required to view full text.
California Regulations
The California Building Standards Code (Title 24 of the California Code of Regulations) is available online in PDF form on the Building Standards Commission Web site.
The California Building Standards Code is published every 3 years and is updated by supplements in intervening years. It is available for purchase or available to the public at no cost through depository libraries (click on the "DOC" link for list of names and addresses of depository libraries throughout California).
- California Office of Administrative Law This agency is responsible for reviewing administrative regulations proposed by over 200 state agencies. Access the California Code of Regulations (CCR) from this page (link on the left or tab at top) and the Regulatory Notice Register (tab at the top).
- California State Agencies Directory Includes State agencies, departments, boards, and commissions.
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait