Legal Dictionaries & Glossaries
- Law.com Dictionary Attributed to Gerald and Kathleen Hill, Law.com's Dictionary can be searched in 3 different ways: enter a legal term, search the definitions, or browse by first letter of a word or phrase.
- Jurist's Legal Dictionaries Jurist's browsable dictionary of basic U.S. legal terminology focuses on legal procedure. This site provides links to Law.com, to an int'l law dictionary and sources of interest to 1Ls.
- Everybody's Legal Glossary Nolo.com's Legal Glossary contains plain-English definitions for hundreds of legal terms. There is a search feature. May also browse terms.
- Lawyers.com Glossary of Legal Terms This site is maintained by LexisNexis and is based on the list of 10,000 works in Merriam-Webster's Dictionary of Law (2000). There is a pronunciation key provided on some entries.
- FindLaw's Practice Area Definitions FindLaw provides a reference guide to selected personal and business legal issues.
- U.S. Court's Commonly Used Terms
Acronyms
- Acronym Finder A searchable database of over 750,000 (as of March 4, 2009) human-edited definitions for acronyms and abbreviations.
- GovSpeak: A Guide to Government Acronyms & Abbreviations This site is maintained by Kelly L. Smith. Provides an alphabetical list of federal gov't abbreviations & acronyms (which are hyperlinked to the official Web site of the gov't agency or program).
- DoD Dictionary of Military Terms You can browse the DOD Dictionary of Military and Associated Terms, the Joint Acronyms and Abbreviations or limit your search to NATO only terms.
Directories
- State, Court, and County Law Libraries On the WashLaw site. Provides links to various state, county, and court law libraries.
- State and Local Government on the Net A directory of official state, county, and city government websites. Arranged by state and by topic pages for all 50 states.
- AALL's Links to Academic Law Libraries Page provided by the Academic Law Libraries Special Interest Section. Alphabetical (and hyperlinked) list of academic law libraries.
- HG.org's Law Journals, Newsletters and Bulletins Provided by Hierros Gamos. Alphabetical (and hyperlinked) list of legal and law-related journals.
- ABA-Approved Law Schools Links on the right provide access to an alphabetical list of law schools, public law schools, private law schools, law schools by year approved, and geographic search by region.
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait