This is the "Guide Overview" page of the "Mobile Applications for Law Students and Lawyers" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Admin Sign In 

Mobile Applications for Law Students and Lawyers   Tags: android, bar_exam, blackberry, ipad, iphone, ipod_touch, legal_research, mobile_apps, pda  

Provides information about current mobile applications that might be of interest to law students and lawyers. Download links for apps are provided for Android, iPhone, iPod Touch, iPad, Blackberry, Palm, and other devices. Check back often for new apps!
Last update: Jan 3, 2012 URL: http://libguides.law.ucla.edu/mobilelegalapps  Print Guide   RSS Updates ShareThis

Guide OverviewPrint Page
  Search: 
 
 

Mobile App Search Engines & Stores

  • Amazon App Store
    Released in March 2011, the Amazon App Store runs inside Google's Android Market and its content is curated by reviewers. Android users may search, browse, and purchase apps in the store and special discounts on apps and a "free app of the day" may be offered.
  • Android Market
    Users may browse--and now search--for Android apps at this site both from their devices and online.
  • Android Zoom
    AndroidZoom is a search alternative for Android users. Apps may be downloaded from the site by using links or scanning QR Codes.
  • Apple Web Apps
    Easier to navigate than the iTunes App Store, allows users to search and browse iPhone and iPad web apps.
  • Blackberry App World
    Available online and as a download for Blackberry smartphones. Users may browse and search apps.
  • Evernote Trunk
    Evernote Trunk is an app store for Evernote users and features nearly 100 add-ons for users of the Evernote mobile productivity app.
  • Facebook App Store
    Handy features include a Featured tab, which helps you identify popular and "essential" apps available in the iTunes store and a Search & Share tab that allows you to search for and to share links to apps within Facebook.
  • Mobile Apps for Law
    Mobile Apps for Law is a searchable database that includes links and information for more than 800 mobile apps for all kinds of devices. The database features a user-friendly interface that makes searching a breeze. For details about pricing, click HERE.
  • Ovi Store
    This site allows Nokia smartphone users to search and browse apps compatible with their devices.
  • HP WebOS Applications (formerly Palm)
    An app store for users to browse popular apps for HP WebOS.
  • uQuery
    A great tool for searching more than 210,000 iPhone, iPad, and iPod Touch applications.
  • USA.gov Mobile Apps
    This site provides information and download links for a variety of mobile apps created by the U.S. government.
 

Overview

Mobile applications are becoming increasingly popular and relevant to all aspects of our daily lives. This LibGuide highlights a number of mobile applications that might be of interest to law students and lawyers. Please check each listing for download links for your specific device. If you know of a mobile app that is not listed in this guide, please let us know by sharing the link in the box below titled "Got Apps?"

 A word of caution: while many mobile apps are incredibly helpful, they should not be used as replacements for official sources of law. Please rely on the official sources available at the Hugh & Hazel Darling Law Library, in your employer's law library, or on certified governmental websites when referencing sources of law.

 

Featured Apps

  • Cover Art
    Wolfram Lawyer's Professional Assistant
    The Wolfram Lawyer's Professional Assistant is a legal reference tool that provides access to a dictionary of legal terms, statutes of limitations for each state in the U.S., a tool for calendar calculations, a variety of calculators, and crime rate and demographic data. The app is powered by the Wolfram|Alpha computational knowledge engine and is compatible for use on all iOS devices. The app typically sells for $4.99 but is currently on sale for $2.99 through December 31, 2011. The app may be downloaded from the iTunes App Store using the link above.

  • Cover Art
    HeinOnline (iOS devices)
    HeinOnline now has an iPad/iPhone app, with which you can view PDFs, access content by citation, browse law reviews and journals, and use the full searching techniques of HeinOnline! The app is FREE (subscription or UCLA IP authentication required) and may be downloaded from the iTunes App Store with the link above.

  • Cover Art
    My Legal Projects (iOS devices)
    West's My Legal Projects is a handy productivity app that helps associates organize task lists and set up deadline reminders for legal research assignments. For each project, you can use the product details page to record key information about the project, such as jurisdiction, key terms, leading cases, and relevant statutes. Notes taken with the app can be shared via email or Bluetooth. The app can link directly into WestlawNext (subscription required). The app may be downloaded from the iTunes App Store for $1.99 using the link above.

  • Cover Art
    BarMax MPRE Pro (iOS devices)
    BarMax MPRE Pro is an app that provides access to substantive lectures on the MPRE, real MPRE questions, MPRE study flashcards, and a full, 60-question, annotated practice exam licensed from the National Conference of Bar Examiners. Feedback is provided on answers in the form of explanations drafted by experts who author actual MPRE questions. The app may be purchased for $17.99 and downloaded from the iTunes App Store using the link above.

Got Apps?

Please note that we are working hard to add more links to apps for non-Apple devices, such as the Android, Blackberry, and Palm as they become available. If you know of a mobile application that might be of interest to law students and lawyers that is not listed in this Guide, please help make this Guide better by emailing the author (steiner@law.ucla.edu) or by submitting a link to the app here. Simply click on the "Submit a Link" button below and enter the requested information. Thanks!

 A big thank you to everyone who has submitted apps! Keep 'em coming!

 

Device Survey

What type of smartphone or handheld device do you use? If you use more than one type of device (such as the iPad and an Android phone), please let us know the types in a comment. Thank you!

Android
Blackberry
iPad
iPhone
iPod Touch
Palm
I use one or more different types of smartphones
Other


HUGH & HAZEL DARLING LAW LIBRARY • UCLA SCHOOL OF LAW
385 CHARLES E. YOUNG DRIVE, EAST • LOS ANGELES, CA 90095-1458 • PHONE: 310.825.4743

Description

Loading  Loading content... please wait