This is the "Guide Overview" page of the "Mobile Applications for Law Students and Lawyers" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Mobile Applications for Law Students and Lawyers   Tags: android, bar_exam, blackberry, ipad, iphone, ipod_touch, legal_research, mobile_apps, pda  

Provides information about current mobile applications that might be of interest to law students and lawyers. Download links for apps are provided for Android, iPhone, iPod Touch, iPad, Blackberry, Palm, and other devices. Check back often for new apps!
Last Updated: Mar 28, 2014 URL: http://libguides.law.ucla.edu/mobilelegalapps Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Guide Overview Print Page
  Search: 
 

Mobile App Search Engines & Stores

  • Amazon App Store
    The Amazon App Store is curated by reviewers. Android users may search, browse, and purchase apps in the store and special discounts on apps and a "free app of the day" may be offered.
  • Apple Web Apps
    This site allows users to browse iPhone and iPad web apps online, outside of iTunes.
  • AppsZoom
    AppsZoom (formerly AndroidZoom) is a search alternative for Android, and now iOS, users. Apps may be downloaded from the site by using links or scanning QR Codes.
  • Blackberry App World
    Available online and as a download for Blackberry smartphones. Users may browse and search apps.
  • Evernote App Center
    Evernote App Center (formerly Evernote Trunk) is an app store for Evernote users and Center features many add-ons for users of the Evernote mobile productivity app.
  • Google Play
    Users may browse--and now search--for Android apps at this site both from their devices and online. Google Play was formerly known as Android Market.
  • Mobile Apps for Law
    Mobile Apps for Law is a searchable database that includes links and information for more than 900 mobile apps for all kinds of devices. The database features a user-friendly interface that makes searching a breeze. For details about pricing, click HERE.
  • New York Times App Index
    Described as a collection of all of the mobile app coverage that has appeared in The New York Times. Includes lists of favorite apps from Times writers.
  • Nokia Store
    This site allows Nokia smartphone users to search and browse apps compatible with their devices.
  • uQuery
    A great tool for searching hundreds of thousands of iPhone, iPad, and iPod Touch applications.
  • USA.gov Mobile Apps
    This site provides information and download links for a variety of mobile apps created by the U.S. government.
  • Windows Phone App Store
    Users may browse and search for Windows Phone apps at this site both from their devices and online.
 

Overview

Mobile applications are becoming increasingly popular and relevant to all aspects of our daily lives. This LibGuide highlights a number of mobile applications that might be of interest to law students and lawyers. Please check each listing for download links for your specific device. If you know of a mobile app that is not listed in this guide, please let us know by sharing the link in the box below titled "Got Apps?"

 A word of caution: while many mobile apps are incredibly helpful, they should not be used as replacements for official sources of law. Please rely on the official sources available at the Hugh & Hazel Darling Law Library, in your employer's law library, or on certified governmental websites when referencing sources of law.

 

Featured Apps

Cover Art
Microsoft Word for iPad (iOS)
Developed by Microsoft, this free app lets you read Word documents on your iPad. Other features, such as the ability to edit or create documents with all of the usual Word tools, requires an Office 365 subscription. Users who do not have an Office 365 subscription on their computers or other devices, may obtain Office 365 Home as an in-app purchase for $99.99. The Microsoft Word for iPad app may be downloaded from the iTunes App Store.

Cover Art
Paper Chase: Criminal Law (iOS)
Paper Chase: Criminal Law is an iOS app designed by the makers of Paper Chase: Contracts to help law students study for first-year criminal law courses and exams. The study tool is presented in a question and answer format, and feedback is provided as students answer questions indicating if the correct answer was given. The app is FREE and may be downloaded from the iTunes App Store.

Cover Art
Paper Chase: Property (iOS)
Paper Chase: Property is an iOS app designed by the makers of the aforementioned Paper Chase apps, which aim to help law students study for first-year property law courses and exams. The study tool is presented in a question and answer format, and feedback is provided as students answer questions indicating if the correct answer was given. The app is FREE and may be downloaded from the iTunes App Store.

Cover Art
Paper Chase: Torts (iOS)
Paper Chase: Torts is an iOS app designed by the makers of the aforementioned Paper Chase apps, which aim to help law students study for first-year torts law courses and exams. The study tool is presented in a question and answer format, and feedback is provided as students answer questions indicating if the correct answer was given. The app is FREE and may be downloaded from the iTunes App Store.

Cover Art
Shake (iOS)
Shake is a productivity app that enables you to create, sign, and share legal agreements from your iOS device. The app features a number of templates for contracts, such as confidentiality and non-disclosure agreements, buy/sell agreements, rental agreements, loan agreements, and freelance agreements. The app also enables you to customize agreements by answering a series of questions. The app is FREE and may be downloaded from the iTunes App Store.

Cover Art
Sitegeist (iOS and Droid)
The Sunlight Foundation created Sitegeist, a handy reference app that enables you to learn about your surroundings quickly using your mobile device. Information provided includes demographics on people and housing, popular spots in the area, and weather forecasts. The app is FREE and may be downloaded from the iTunes App Store for iOS devices and from Google Play for Droid devices.

 

Mobile Apps for Law - Newly Released Apps

Mobileappsforlaw.com hosts a free RSS feed that provides information regarding new mobile apps that may be of interest to law students and lawyers. To view the full entry for featured apps, users must be subscribed to the Mobileappsforlaw.com database. Additional information about the database may be found at www.mobileappsforlaw.com.

Loading Loading...
blank padding

Got Apps?

Please note that we are working hard to add more links to apps for non-Apple devices, such as the Android, Blackberry, and Palm as they become available. If you know of a mobile application that might be of interest to law students and lawyers that is not listed in this Guide, please help make this Guide better by emailing the author (steiner@law.ucla.edu) or by submitting a link to the app here. Simply click on the "Submit a Link" button below and enter the requested information. Thanks!

 A big thank you to everyone who has submitted apps! Keep 'em coming!

 

Device Survey

What type of smartphone or handheld device do you use? If you use more than one type of device (such as the iPad and an Android phone), please let us know the types in a comment. Thank you!










HUGH & HAZEL DARLING LAW LIBRARY • UCLA SCHOOL OF LAW
385 CHARLES E. YOUNG DRIVE, EAST • LOS ANGELES, CA 90095-1458 • PHONE: 310.825.4743

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip