Arizona and National Immigration Crisis: Community Immigrant Organizations
Covers Arizona & the nation's immigration crisis. Designed for Rebellious Lawyering trainings, the content reflects the work of June Kim, RA Tara Kearns, & Professor Gerald P. López. PLEASE NOTE: This guide is not currently being updated.
The American Friends Service Committee (AFSC) is a Quaker organization that includes people of various faiths who are committed to social justice, peace and humanitarian service. Our work is based on the principles of the Religious Society of Friends, the belief in the worth of every person, and faith in the power of love to overcome violence and injustice
Project Voice's purpose is to strengthen the voices of immigrant-led organizations in setting the national agenda for immigration policy and immigrants' rights, in order to foster a fuller integration of immigrants and refugees in their new communities.
"The Arizona Coalition for Migrant Rights is an effort by local organizations and advocates to come together in an inclusive and diverse network from across the state to work pro-actively to change the social/political climate of immigration in Arizona and to stop the anti-immigrant tide. Adopting the term migrant from the United Nations to reflect global patterns of migration, we have come together to pool our collective skills and experience to develop shared analysis and plans of action; to advocate for justice and raise awareness of migrants and refugees; to increase communication and information sharing across the state; and to organize and educate to promote justice and positive change." (from About Us).
A searchable directory of organizations "to help facilitate communication between organizations across the state working on or concerned with the rights of immigrants, refugees and asylum seekers and to help community members identify local organizations to turn to, either for help or as volunteers."
The Arizona Repeal Coalition is an organization committed to repealing over 60 anti-immigrant laws and bills that have been passed or considered by Arizona politicians in the past few years
The mission of the Black Alliance for Just Immigration is to engage African Americans and other communities in a dialog that leads to actions that challenge U.S. immigration policy and the underlying issues of race, racism and economic inequity that frame it.
This new report includes detailed case studies of 16 organizations from across the country that are forging effective cross racial alliances between immigrant and native-born communities in order to build power and win just policies and practices in their communities.
Formed in 1999, Border Action Network works with immigrant and border communities in Arizona. Their mission is "to ensure that our rights are respected, our human dignity upheld and that our communities are healthy places to live." They are a membership-based organization that combines grassroots community organizing, leadership development, litigation and policy advocacy.
Coalición de Derechos Humanos ("The Human Rights Coalition") is a grassroots organization which promotes respect for human/civil rights and fights the militarization of the Southern Border region, discrimination, and human rights abuses by federal, state, and local law enforcement officials affecting U.S. and non-U.S. citizens alike.
Includes Arizona Recovered Bodies Project, Abuse Documentation, Abuse Clinic, Know Your Rights, Legal Justice Network, Human Rights Promoters, Citizenship and Refugee Adjustment Fairs, Support the Panda Express Workers and Yo Soy Testigo/I am a Witness.
Founded in September 2002, Families for Freedom (FFF) is a New York-based multi-ethnic defense network by and for immigrants facing and fighting deportation.
Includes links to Deportation 101 and the FFF Financial Handbook for Families Facing Detention and Deportation. See link on right under Action Center for PDF links to Know Your Rights.
The Florence Project is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit legal service organization providing free legal services to men, women, and unaccompanied children detained by the Immigration and Customs Enforcement (ICE) division of the Department of Homeland Security in Arizona.
The Immigrant Defense Project (IDP), formerly an initiative of the New York State Defenders Association, defends the legal, constitutional and human rights of immigrants facing criminal or deportation charges.
The Immigrant Legal Resource Center (ILRC) is a national non-profit resource center that provides legal trainings, educational materials, and advocacy to advance immigrant rights. The mission of the ILRC is to work with and educate immigrants, community organizations, and the legal sector to continue to build a democratic society that values diversity and the rights of all people.
Practice Areas include Family-Based Immigration, Employment-Based Immigration, Visa Types, Investor Visas, Fiancé & Marriage Visas, Waivers, Consular Processing, Deporation & Removal, and Naturalization & Citizenship.
Pegasus Legal Services for Children (Albuquerque, NM)
Pegasus Legal Services for Children is a private non-profit agency providing civil legal services to children, youth, and their caregivers, including direct representation, community legal education, and policy advocacy.
Somos Un Pueblo Unido works to build a community that does not discriminate against people based on their national origin, that institutes humane immigration policies, and that protects the human rights of everyone irrespective of where they are born or what documents they carry.
