UCLA School of Law | Hugh & Hazel Darling Law Library

ucla-law-logo

Mobile Applications for Law Students and Lawyers: Apps for Law School & Bar Exam Study

Provides information about current mobile applications that might be of interest to law students and lawyers. Download links for apps are provided for Android, iPhone, iPod Touch, iPad, Blackberry, Palm, and other devices. Check back often for new apps!
URL: http://libguides.law.ucla.edu/mobilelegalapps

Mobile Apps for Law School & Bar Exam Study

 NOTE: Students whose primary method of assimilating information is sitting in a classroom and listening to a lecture, or who require strict oversight to ensure that they are studying enough should not rely solely on self-study programs for their bar preparation. In addition, students should not assume that the contents of the applications listed below contain the most current exam information for the bar exam the student intends to take. For current information about the Bar Exam and resources concerning the Exam, please visit our Preparing for the California Bar Exam and MPRE guide available at http://libguides.law.ucla.edu/calbarexam

Application Description of Application and Cost
BARBRI Mobile offers a free application called BARBRI Challenge and a separate application available to students registered with BARBRI. BARBRI Challenge is a multiple-choice quiz on bar subjects that is FREE. For enrolled BARBRI students, BARBRI Mobile provides students with access to all BARBRI materials on their iPhone, iPod Touch, or iPad devices. Both apps may be downloaded from the iTunes App Store and from Google Play for Droid devices.

BarMax MBE and BarMax CA bill themselves as complete bar exam course applications. BarMax MBE includes two months of lectures, a calendar and task list, support from BarMax, MBE flash cards, and more than 1,300 actual MBE questions. The app is quite expensive, however, at $499.99. The file is large as well, at 501 MB. The BarMax MBE app may be purchased and downloaded at the iTunes App Store.

BarMax CA is the vendor's California edition of its commercial bar exam preparation course. The content of the application includes the BarMax MBE materials mentioned above, as well as 100 previous essay exams used in the California Bar Exam. The purchase price for the application is quite expensive at $999.99, as of the publication of this Guide. The BarMax CA app may be purchased and downloaded at the iTunes App Store.

Kaplan Bar Review is a free app for students enrolled in Kaplan's Bar Review online program. The app enables Kaplan students to track assignments, analyze quiz scores, view lectures, and provides access to flashcards in the subjects of torts, constitutional law, evidence, criminal law and procedure, contracts, and real property. The app may be downloaded from the iTunes App Store and Google Play.
Case Briefs is an iOS app that provides access to student briefs, course outlines, and study aids for law school exams. Other features include review materials for pre-law students and "deals" for local restaurants. The app is FREE and may be downloaded from the iTunes App Store.
Developed by University of South Carolina School of Law Professor Ned Snow, Future Interests Made Simple is an app designed to help law students learn the subject of future interests. Features include multiple examples and explanations; mnemonic devices to aid in the mastery of terminology; and 60 practice problems grouped according to difficulty level. The app may be purchased for $2.99 from the iTunes App Store for iOS devices and from Google Play for Droid devices.
The Law in a Flash series of mobile applications is a product of Aspen Publishers. There are several titles available for download as in-app purchases on subjects such as: civil procedure, constitutional law, criminal law, criminal procedure, commercial sales, contracts, corporations, evidence, federal income tax, future interests, professional responsibility, real property, torts, and wills and trusts. The cost of each download is $19.99. The apps may be downloaded from the iTunes App Store and from Google Play for use on Droid devices.
Tip o' the cap to Margaret Haden, who alerted us to the fun legal study app Law School Dojo. The app is described as a quiz game that features hundreds of multiple choice questions to learn legal concepts, vocabulary, and procedure (with some random legal trivia thrown in the mix). Currently developer Hand Drawn Apps offers apps for iOS devices for general legal concepts (FREE), civil procedure ($2.99), and international law (FREE). Apps are also offered for Droid devices, including apps for general legal concepts (FREE), torts ($2.99), international law ($2.99), civil procedure ($2.99), and an app called "Know Your Rights" (FREE), described as "a law quiz about your rights when dealing with the government and police." Apps are also available for Droid devices, which pay be downloaded from Google Play.

The LexisNexis Law School Q & A Series is an interactive app that aims to help law students study for final exams with multiple choice and essay questions for subjects typically covered in the law school curriculum. All Q & A subject areas were authored by law school professors considered to be experts in their chosen field. For each multiple-choice question, the authors provide detailed answers that indicate which of the options is the best answer and explains thoroughly why that option is better than the other choices. Each short-answer question is designed to be answered in fifteen minutes or less. For these questions, the authors provide model answers.

While the Q & A app is FREE and previews of each topic are available, users must make an in-app purchase to buy the Q & A book that is desired (each book costs about $19.99). Q & A books are available to puchase in-app: administrative law, bankruptcy, constitutional law, copyright law, criminal law, criminal procedure, environmental law, evidence, federal estate and gift taxation, federal income tax, intellectual property, patent law, property, remedies, secured transactions, taxation of business entities, the First Amendment, torts, trademark and unfair competition, and wills, trusts & estates. Once a title is purchased, users can take a full practice exam and view results in the provided scoreboard. Practice exams may be taken multiple times. The app may be downloaded from the iTunes App Store and may be used on all iOS devices.

Paper Chase: Contracts is an iOS app designed to help law students study for first-year contracts courses and exams. The study tool is presented in a question and answer format, and feedback is provided as students answer questions indicating if the correct answer was given. The app is FREE and may be downloaded from the iTunes App Store.
Paper Chase: Criminal Law is an iOS app designed by the makers of Paper Chase: Contracts to help law students study for first-year criminal law courses and exams. The study tool is presented in a question and answer format, and feedback is provided as students answer questions indicating if the correct answer was given. The app is FREE and may be downloaded from the iTunes App Store.
Paper Chase: Property is an iOS app designed by the makers of the aforementioned Paper Chase apps, which aim to help law students study for first-year property law courses and exams. The study tool is presented in a question and answer format, and feedback is provided as students answer questions indicating if the correct answer was given. The app is FREE and may be downloaded from the iTunes App Store.
Paper Chase: Torts is an iOS app designed by the makers of the aforementioned Paper Chase apps, which aim to help law students study for first-year torts law courses and exams. The study tool is presented in a question and answer format, and feedback is provided as students answer questions indicating if the correct answer was given. The app is FREE and may be downloaded from the iTunes App Store.
The Sum & Substance series of mobile applications is a product of West Academic. There are currently five titles available for download from the iTunes App Store, on subjects including: contracts, constitutional law, criminal law, criminal procedure, and real property. The apps consist solely of audio recordings of lectures by noteworthy law faculty from U.S. law schools. The cost of the downloads from the iTunes App Store ranges from $49.99 to $59.99 per app
The Themis Bar Review app provides Themis students mobile access to substantive lectures for all subjects tested on the bar exam and hundreds of diagnostic assessment questions. The FREE version of the app provides access to demo content. The full content of the app is available only to students enrolled in Themis Bar Review courses. WiFi connection is required to review the app's content. The app may be downloaded from the iTunes App Store for iOS devices and from Google Play for Droid devices.