UCLA School of Law | Hugh & Hazel Darling Law Library

ucla-law-logo

Mobile Applications for Law Students and Lawyers: Apps for Legal Research & News

Provides information about current mobile applications that might be of interest to law students and lawyers. Download links for apps are provided for Android, iPhone, iPod Touch, iPad, Blackberry, Palm, and other devices. Check back often for new apps!
URL: http://libguides.law.ucla.edu/mobilelegalapps

Mobile Apps for Legal Research & News

 A word of caution: while many mobile apps are incredibly helpful, they should not be used as replacements for official sources of law. Please rely on the official sources available at the Hugh & Hazel Darling Law Library, in your employer's law library, or on certified governmental websites when referencing sources of law.

Application Description of Application and Cost
ABA Journal is a FREE app for use on the iPhone, iPod Touch, and iPad. The app provides breaking legal news and articles featured in the ABA Journal. The app may be downloaded from the iTunes App Store.
Hat tip to Robert Ambrogi for his recent post on LawSites about the American Arbitration Association's new mobile app. Attorneys involved in arbitrations or mediations via the American Arbitration Association will find the app incredibly helpful, as it provides ready access to AAA rules, codes, and protocols, as well as contact information for AAA offices worldwide. The app is FREE and may be downloaded from the iTunes App Store for use on iOS devices and from Google Play for use on Droid devices.
The American Lawyer is a FREE app for use on the iPhone and iPad. The app provides instant access to recent issues of American Lawyer every month. The app may be downloaded from the iTunes App Store for iOS devices or Google Play for Droid devices.

Black's Law Dictionary, 10th Edition, edited by Bryan A. Garner, is one of the definitive legal reference resources for lawyers, law students, and laypersons. The mobile application is available for purchase from the iTunes App Store for $54.99, and the application may be used on both the iPhone and the iPad. The 9th Edition is available for Windows Phone devices, for $59.99.
The Bloomberg app provides you with current information about news, stock quotes, company descriptions, market leaders/laggers, price charts, market trends analysis, and more. The app allows for a number of customizable settings and is FREE. The app may be downloaded from the iTunes App Store, Google Play, Blackberry App World, and the Windows Phone app store. Also available in the iTunes App Store is Bloomberg for iPad.
Bloomberg Law is Bloomberg BNA's latest mobile app, which enables you to view results for legal and news searches, track dockets, view and share legal documents, and view news and company information. Full use of the app requires a Bloomberg Law subscription. The app is FREE and may be downloaded from theiTunes App Store and from Google Play.
The Bloomberg Law Reports app provides access to  Bloomberg BNA Law Reports to Bloomberg BNA subscribers using iOS devices (log in with a current user ID and password is required). The app enables you to search BNA Law Reports and mark reports as favorites for future reference. The app is FREE and may be downloaded from the iTunes App Store.
The California Courts app facilitates access to California's bar directory of attorneys, PACER, the California rules of procedure, federal rules of procedure, California appellate court opinions, appellate dockets, and more. The app is $2.99 and may be downloaded from the iTunes App Store for iOS devices and from Google Play for Droid devices.
The 2013 California Law app enables users to search and browse all California statutes from their mobile devices. Features include: offline access, full-text search capability, search term highlighting, and bookmarking for later reference. The app is available for $29.99 and may be downloaded from the iTunes App Store (please note that developer Tekk Innovations also sells each code section separately, with an average price of $5.99 per code).
The California Rules of Court app provides convenient access to all of the California Rules of Court. The app provides offline access, full-text search capability, search term highlighting, and bookmarking for later reference.The app is available for $19.99 and may be downloaded from the iTunes App Store. 
Congress+ is an iPhone app that offers information about the current session of Congress (annual updates for sessions of Congress are available as in-app purchases for $0.99). The app will help you identify your elected officials in the House and Senate, retrieve their contact information, and obtain staff information, legislative activity and campaign information. The full federal version of the app is available for $4.99 in the iTunes App Store.

A tip of the hat to Anthony Shorter for alerting us to the app he developed, Courtroom Objections. Shorter is a Texas attorney who has been in practice since 1986 and who currently works as the Assistant Attorney General, Senior Regional Attorney in the Child Support Division of the Office of Attorney General. With Courtroom Objections, Shorter combined his legal knowledge and programming interest to create a legal app that attorneys and law students may find helpful relative to the area of evidence. The app is based on the Federal Rules of Evidence and Texas Rules of Evidence. When the app is launched, you can review lists of common objections to admissibility and objections to form. For instance, if you were to select "authentication" under "Objections to Admissibility," you would be presented with suggested language for and an explanation of the objection. By scrolling down past the explanation, you can click "Rule" to view the relevant rule of evidence. The app also allows you to increase the font size. This handy app may be used on iPad, iPhone, and iPod Touch devices and is available for $2.99 to download from the iTunes App Store.

A big tip o' the cap to Tobias Moyer of BigTwit Software, LLC, who recently contacted us about his family of legal reference apps for the Android platform, titled dLaw (formerly DroidLaw). Quite impressively, Moyer developed dLaw while studying as a law student at American University's Washington College of Law. The app currently allows users to search, bookmark, copy, share, and annotate text of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure, Evidence, Appellate Procedure, Criminal Procedure, and Bankruptcy Procedure on their Droid devices (the text is saved to the device's SD card so access is available offline as well). The app is is FREE and may be downloaded from Google Play.

Add-on apps for full-text state codes for individual states are available in Google Play. A list of add-ons currently available for purchase may also be viewed on the developer's website at: http://droidlaw.com/

Fastcase is a next-generation, Web-based legal research service that provides access to U.S. cases and statutes. The Fastcase mobile application is currently configured for use by iPhone, iPod Touch, and iPad owners and is FREE. Searches of the Fastcase database may be performed using citations, phrases, or keywords. Boolean operators and proximity connectors may be used in constructing search statements. Fastcase may be downloaded from the iTunes App Store or from the Fastcase website at http://www.fastcase.com/iphone/

UPDATE: Many thanks to Catherine Sanders Reach, Director, Law Practice Management & Technology for the Chicago Bar Association for her alerting us to the recently released Fastcase app for Droid devices. You may find her review of the app at http://lpmt.chicagobar.org/2012/06/fastcase-release-app-for-android/. As with the iOS version of the app, the Fastcase app for Droid devices is FREE and may be downloaded from Google Play.

The Fed Courts app provides access to the federal rules, local rules for all U.S. federal courts, and PACER. In addition, the app provides turn-by-turn directions to any federal courthouse in the U.S. The app is $2.99 and may be downloaded from the iTunes App Store.for iOS devices and from Google Play for Droid devices.

Fixed is a mobile app that aims to assist individuals in fighting traffic tickets. Users take a photo of the ticket to submit it to Fixed's team of experts. An attorney in your state will then review to identify potential issues and then send you flat fee quote for representation.  If you choose to hire the attorney, they will then handle the representation.  The app provides moving violation services in 12 states and DUI defense services in two states. The app is FREE and may be downloaded from the iTunes App Store for iOS or from Google Play for Android devices.

HeinOnline is well-known by law students and faculty, and the terrific content of Hein is now accessible on iOS devices! The HeinOnline app allows you to view PDF copies of content in the HeinOnline library, access content by citation, browse law reviews and journals, and use the full searching techniques of HeinOnline. The app is FREE and may be downloaded from the iTunes App Store (IP authentication is required to access content).
One of the latest entries into the legal research app market is brought to us is IntelliConnect Mobile, brought to us by publisher Wolters Kluwer Law & Business. The app is available to IntelliConnect subscribers for use on Blackberry and iOS devices, with content including several Aspen treatise titles and IntelliConnent's Smart Charts in areas such as corporate governance, federal banking, financial reform, and secured transactions. The app is FREE (although a subscription is required to access content) and may be downloaded from the iTunes App Store for use on iOS devices and from the IC Mobile website for Blackberry devices.
LawBox is a legal reference app that provides access to the text of the United States Code and state statutes from Arizona, California, Delaware, Florida, Illinois, New York, and Texas. The app is FREE and may be used on all iOS devices. The app may be downloaded from the iTunes App Store.
The Law Guide mobile app is an Android app developed by the creators of the legal website TheLaw.com. The app is FREE and provides access to a legal dictionary, legal forms, case reviews, job post board, the New York Code and more. The app may be downloaded from Google Play.

LawStack bills itself as a "legal library in your pocket." The app is preloaded with the text of the U.S. Constitution, Federal Rules of Civil Procedure, Federal Rules of Criminal Procedure, Federal Rules of Appellate Procedure, Federal Rules of Evidence, and the Federal Rules of Bankruptcy Procedure (as effective as of December 1, 2009). Once LawStack is downloaded to your device, you may also download titles of the Code of Federal Regulations, the U.S. Code, and statutes from a number of states, including California, as in-app purchases of approximately $1.99. LawStack is FREE and may be downloaded from the iTunes App Store.
Legal Edge is a legal news app that helps users keep informed about current legal developments with updates, news alerts, and case filings from various legal professionals in the United States. The app was developed by JD Supra and subject areas include, among others, real estate, banking and finance, immigration, insurance, consumer protection, taxes, bankruptcy, intellectual property, health law, labor and employment, legal marketing. The app is FREE and may be downloaded from the iTunes App Store for use on all iOS devices.

Lexis Advance HD: provides enrolled students with active Lexis Advance accounts with full access to Lexis Advance's features, such as federal and state cases, Shepard's, public records, company information, and secondary sources. The app is free and may be downloaded for use on the iPad from the iTunes App Store.
Lexis Advance for Solos is a new legal research app developed by LexisNexis in collaboration with solo practice lawyers. Lexis Advance for Solos is intended to be a more efficient research tool for solo practitioners; it features a single search interface, integrates results from the Internet, includes search filters that enable users to refine results, and provides tools with which to save queries. Although the app is FREE and may be downloaded from the iTunes App Store, a subscription to Lexis Advance for Solos is required to utilize the app.
LexisNexis Quicklaw is a new app developed by LexisNexis that allows you to retrieve Canadian cases from the LexisNexis Quicklaw online legal research service and to validate said cases to ensure they remain good law. Although the app is FREE and may be downloaded from the iTunes App Store, a subscription to Quicklaw is required to utilze the app.
CCH's M&A Tax Report provides convenient access to monthly reports on key developments in tax regulations and expert analysis on recent litigation, IRS Revenue Rulings and regulations, M&A transactions, private letter rulings, and other related content. The free app is optimized for use on the iPad. The reports are acquired via in-app purchases for $4.99 per monthly report. The app may be downloaded from the iTunes App Store.
Mobile Transcript is an app that provides attorneys with the ability to read deposition transcripts formatted for their devices. Transcripts are uploaded by attorneys' court reporters to the Mobile Transcript website, which in turn downloads the transcripts to the attorneys' devices (court reporters must hold a subscription with Mobile Transcript to be able to upload transcripts). The app allows attorneys to highlight and flag text. The app is FREE and is available for use on iPhone, iPod Touch, and iPad devices, as well as Droid and Blackberry devices. For iPhone and iPod devices, the app may be downloaded from the iTunes App Store. Mobile Transcript has a separate app optimized for the iPad that may be downloaded from the iTunes App Store. The app for Blackberry smartphones may be downloaded from the Mobile Transcript website, and the Droid version may be downloaded from Google Play.
The NPR News app is a FREE app optimized for use on iOS and Android devices. The app allows you to follow local and national news, listen to your favorite NPR programs when you like, access on-demand audio, find station broadcast frequencies while traveling, and more. The app may be downloaded from the iTunes App Store for use on iOS devices and from Google Play for use on Android devices.
The NYTimes app allows you to access the latest news articles and photos that appear on NYTimes.com. The app also lets you customize the toolbar to show your favorite sections of NYTimes.com. The app  may be downloaded from the iTunes App Store for use on iOS devices and from Google Play for use on Android devices.

Nolo's Plain English Law Dictionary is a great--and FREE--alternative to the Black's Law Dictionary mobile application. The application may be downloaded from the iTunes App Store for use on iOS devices, and from Google Play for use on Droid devices. The current price for the Droid version of the app is $16.19.
A hat tip to reference librarian Everett Wiggins of Hisock & Barclay, LLP for alerting us to the handy OpenRegs app. OpenRegs is an app optimized for use on iDevices that provides convenient access to regulations published in the Federal Register. The app lets you track "significant" and "economically significant" regulations published in the FR, locate recently issued notices of final and proposed rule-making, and browse regulations by agency or comment periods closing soon or recently opened. The app is FREE and may be downloaded from the iTunes App Store.
The Osborn's Concise Law Dictionary is a legal reference app that provides definitions of more than 4,700 legal terms. Osborn's has been published in print form for over 80 years, and is regarded as one of the best, concise dictionaries of legal terms. The app enables you to search for terms or to browse a list of terms. Where terms refer to others, cross-references are provided. The app also allows you to bookmark terms that you find important, to make future reference convenient. The app currently sells for $13.99 and may be downloaded from the iTunes App Store.
The Oyez app provides you with abstracts of the U.S. Supreme Court's constitutional decisions and access to audio files for its public sessions. The app includes voting alignments and biographical sketches for all Justices, searchable transcripts, and information and audio for constitutional law cases heard in the U.S. Supreme Court from October 1955 through 2012. The app is available for $0.99 and may be downloaded from the iTunes App Store for use on all iOS devices. The app may also be downloaded for use on Android devices from Google Play for $0.99 (update for the Droid app is forthcoming).
Released by GPO Mobile, the Presidential Documents app provides mobile access to documents released by the White House Press Secretary beginning in 2009 and concurrent with the change in the administration. The collection includes exectuive orders, speeches, statements, approved acts, nominations submitted to the Senate, White House announcements, and press released. Users can search documents by date, location, category, name, or subject. The app may be used on any smartphone by pointing your device to http://m.gpo.gov/dcpd.

UPDATE for law students: Hat tip to Alex Torry with PushLegal, for sending us the exciting news that PushLegal's complete library of legal reference materials is now FREE for currently enrolled law students (a package that normally would cost $29.95/month or $299/year). Simply register for the app using your .edu e-mail address and you will receive a complimentary subscription for the duration of your time at law school.

PushLegal's Statutes and Case Law Library is a legal reference app developed for use on all iOS, Droid, and Blackberry devices. The app provides access to statutes, court rules, and annotated case law - the developer refers to PushLegal as a "mobile law library created by lawyers for lawyers." Links to case materials refer app users to Google Scholar for judicial opinions. Users may also access the law library contained in PushLegal online at www.pushlegal.com. A current list of the deskbooks available from the developer may be found at https://pushlegal.com/deskbooks/. The app is FREE and may be downloaded from the iTunes App Store for iOS devices, from Google Play for Droid devices, and from Blackberry App World for Blackberry devices. Please note that users are required to sign up for a subscription to access the contents of the PushLegal library.

The Reuters App is a FREE mobile app that provides you with access to news and market data on a number of handheld devices. Features include world, business, and market news, global financial data, corporate information, customizable stock tab, sports, science, health, technology and entertainment news, and full-text articles and photos optimized for easy reading on mobile devices. The app is available for use on iPhones, iPod Touch devices, Blackberry smartphones, and the Android. Information for downloading the app on these devices may be found on the Reuters website.

Rulebook is an app that provides users mobile access to federal and state court rules. Among the features offered in Rulebook: fulltext searching of the user's Rulebook library (specific court rules may be downloaded as in-app purchases), basic annotation tools, and hyperlink to other relevant rules. The app includes free and immediate updates to downloaded content. The app is FREE and may be downloaded from the iTunes App Store

The Bluebook: Among its helpful features is Rulebook's mobile access to The Bluebook, the legal citation system. The Bluebook is available as an in-app purchase for $39.99.

The Social Science Research Network is an excellent resource for scholarly research in a number of disciplines, including law. With the iSSRN application, users may search more than 260,000 research papers in the SSRN library, as well as email or view papers retrieved in search results. The iSSRN app is compatible with the iPhone, iPod Touch, and iPad, and may be downloaded for FREE from the iTunes App Store.
TrackBill is a highly regarded mobile app that helps you search and track state and federal legislation. The FREE app provides access to a database of 700,000 bills, 5,000 committee, and 10,000 legislators. In-app purchases are available for enhanced tracking features. The app may be downloaded from the iTunes App Store for iOS devices and from Google Play for Droid devices.
Described as the "world's only dictionary of law for non-native English speakers," TransLegal's Law Dictionary provides definitions for thousands of legal terms, sound recordings to aid pronunciation, and contextual examples to aid in understanding legal terms. The app has several flexible search features, including wildcard searching, which enables you to locate terms regardless of misspelling. The app is currently available for $24.99 for use on iOS devices from the iTunes App Store.

Another thanks goes out to Anthony Shorter for informing us about his latest app TrialEvidence, a reference tool for reviewing common courtroom evidentiary foundations used to admit items into evidence. The app is currently configured for use on iOS devices. The app may be downloaded for $1.99 from the iTunes App Store.

Developed by the Library of Congress, the U.S. Constitution: Analysis and Interpretation app provides a mobile version of the legal treatise prepared by attorneys of the Congressional Research Service at the direction of the United States Senate and issued as Senate Document No. 112-9. The app is FREE and may be downloaded from the iTunes App Store.

UPDATE: Thomson Reuters now has an Android app to accompany its iPad app for WestlawNext! Both apps are FREE for students with active accounts. The Droid app may be downloaded from Google Play, and the iOS app may be downloaded from the iTunes App Store.

Students with WestlawNext accounts may also access the mobile version of the site by pointing their browsers to http://m.next.westlaw.com. Students with regular Westlaw accounts may access regular Westlaw by pointing their browsers to http://wireless.westlaw.com. For those using paid accounts through their places of employment, please note that search sessions using the mobile versions of these sites will incur charges at the employer's current subscription rate.

The Wolfram Lawyer's Professional Assistant is a legal reference tool that provides access to a dictionary of legal terms, statutes of limitations for each state in the U.S., a tool for calendar calculations, a variety of calculators, and crime rate and demographic data. The app is powered by the Wolfram|Alpha computational knowledge engine and is compatible for use on all iOS devices. The app sells for $4.99 and may be downloaded from the iTunes App Store.