LibGuides: Immigration Law Research Guide: Self-Help

Know Your Rights Information

AILA: Know Your Rights:Client Flyers
Brief informative flyers in multiple languages; topics include "If ICE Visits Your Home," "If ICE Comes to Your Workplace," "If ICE Stops You In Public," "Immigration Court Hearings and ICE Arrests," and "What To Do If You Are Detained at a U.S. Port of Entry (for LPRs)."
Immigrant Legal Resource Center
Includes printable red cards in 41 languages, flyers & solidarity signs, a video tutorial, family preparedness plan, and rapid response phone numbers.
National Immigrant Justice Center
Fact sheets include "What to Do if You or a Loved One is Detained," "ICE at Immigration Court," the "Pro Se Manual for Immigrants in Detention" and "If You Encounter ICE."
ACLU
Includes a detailed listing of possible scenarios, such as "Law enforcement asks about my immigration status," "I've been stopped by police or ICE," and "Police or ICE are at my home."
Immigrant Defense Project - Know Your Rights with ICE
Includes FAQs, infographics, flyers, booklets, and posters in multiple languages and for different scenarios (At Home and On the Street, In Your Car, When ICE Lies to You, and From Detention.)

Self-Help Titles

NOTE: Online versions of self-help titles through the Legal Information Reference Center (Nolo Press e-books) are accessible to the UCLA Law Community only.

***

Becoming a U.S. Citizen, 2023 ed.; Ilona M. Bray, et al. (Nolo, 1993- ).

Library (print & online):

KF4710.Z9 B73 (Reference Self-Help Collection)

Fiancé & Marriage Visas: A Couple's Guide to U.S. Immigration., Ilona M. Bray, (Nolo, 2025).

Library (online only):

Fiancé & Marriage Visas

How to Get a Green Card: Legal Ways to Stay in the U.S.A., 2024 ed.; Ilona M. Bray, et al. (Nolo, 1993- ).

Library (print & online):

KF 4840 .Z9 H69 (Reference Self-Help Collection)

U.S. Citizenship and Naturalization Handbook, Daniel Levy, National Immigration Project. (Westlaw, 2025).

Westlaw:	U.S. Citizenship & Naturalization Handbook (Westlaw password required)
Library:	KF 4710 .Z9 N38 (Reserve)

U.S. Immigration Made Easy, Ilona Bray. (Nolo, 2025).

Library (print & online):

KF 4819.6 U2 (Reference Self-Help Collection)

Quick Links

U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services
Has forms, laws, and information on types of relief.
Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals - Guides and Legal Outlines
Has both procedural and substantive guides--including the "Immigration Outline."
Immi
Helps U.S. immigrants understand their legal options. Has online screening tool, legal information, and referrals to nonprofit legal services organizations. Created by the Immigration Advocates Network and Pro Bono Net.
*También disponible en español.

See also the Organizations page of this guide.

Citizenship

The USCIS Citizenship Resource Center has information on the naturalization (citizenship) test, including free study materials to help prepare for the test.

NOTE: applicants who file on or after Oct. 20, 2025 will face a new, more difficult citizenship test.

SEE:

Jenny Gross, Trump Administration Reinstates More Difficult Citizenship Test, N.Y. Times (Sept. 18, 2025)

DHS, USCIS, Notice of Implementation of 2025 Naturalization Civics Test, Federal Register, Sept. 18, 2025, 90 FR 45047; CIS No. 2823-25; DHS Docket No. USCIS-2025-0008. (Pages 45057-45050).