UCLA School of Law | Hugh & Hazel Darling Law Library

ucla-law-logo

Finding California Statutes: Codes

This guide outlines resources for California statutory materials, such as statutes, codes, initiatives, referenda, uncodified statutes and superceded law available in the UCLA Law Libray as well as online.
URL: http://libguides.law.ucla.edu/californiastatutes

Useful Links

California Codes

  1. West’s Annotated California Codes provides a subject arrangement of the general and permanent legislative law of California and includes court rules and uncodified laws of general interest.  In addition to the text of California laws, West’s provides annotations to judicial decisions, law reviews, attorney general opinions, the California Code of Regulations, other West publications such as Corpus Juris Secundum (C.J.S.), and the “key number” system.

  2. Library: KFC 30.5 W4 (Reference Reading Room & California Collection, Level 2)
    Westlaw:   CA-ST-ANN and CA-ST (unannotated code)

  3. Deering’s California Codes, Annotated also provides a subject arrangement of general and permanent California laws and includes court rules and important uncodified acts.  Annotations to judicial decisions, Legislative Counsel Opinions, attorney general opinions, the California Code of Regulations, as well as other publications such as California Jurisprudence (Cal Jur), and Witkin’s Summary of California Law, are included.  Deering’s annotations are not entirely duplicative of West’s so you should check both sources for complete coverage of the code section.

  4. Library: KFC 30.5 D4 (California Collection, Level 2)
    LexisNexis STATES;CACODE or CAL;CODE

  5. An unannotated version of the Codes is available on the Internet.

    Internet

    LegInfo Codes

  6. For the convenience of practitioners, various publishers produce individual code titles as well as sets of selected codes. These codes are usually unannotated and are issued annually.  Please see Daniel Martin, Henke’s California Law Guide, 8th ed. (LexisNexis, 2006), pp. 52 - 60, for a list of available unannotated codes.

  7. Library: KFC 73 M37 2006 (Reference Desk and Reference Reading Room)

Code Updates

The printed Codes are updated only once a year through supplementary pocket parts. For changes that have occurred since the date of the last pocket part, and for newly passed legislation, you must turn to printed advance legislative services.  For more timely updates, LexisNexis and Westlaw update the code frequently as do the Web sites for current legislative materials.  New legislation goes into effect the January after enactment unless it is enacted as emergency legislation.

  1. Chapter Laws (session laws or statutes) are published throughout the Legislative Session by the California Legislature and include the summary digest as well as the text of newly passed statutes.  Each individual Chapter Law indicates its effect on a Code or a Code section (i.e. addition, amendment, etc.).  In addition, a Table of Sections Affected can be found in the Legislative Index published yearly.  The Table of Sections Affected indicates the effect of pending and recently passed legislation on Code sections and will direct you to the appropriate bill number.  These tables and indexes are on the Web and are far more current than the print materials.

    Library: Chapter Laws:
    KFC 25 A2 (California Collection, Level 2)
    Legislative Index/Table of Sections Affected—(for current session):
    KFC 14 L43i (Reference)
    Internet: Chapter Laws (LegInfo) (1993-present)
    Legislative Index/Table of Sections Affected (LegInfo)

  2. West’s California Legislative Service is published throughout the year and contains the text of any new Chapter Laws passed by the California Legislature.  It includes tables indicating Code sections affected by new legislation, Senate and Assembly bills chaptered into law, and changes in the California Rules of Court.  A cumulative subject index is published in each volume and a final cumulative index is published at the end of the legislative session.

    Library: KFC 30.5 W4 (Reference & California Collection, Level 2)
    Westlaw: CA-LEGIS (current session);
    CA-LEGIS-OLD (1987- previous session)
     
  3. Deering’s California Codes Advance Legislative Service is also issued continuously throughout the year and contains the text of new Chapter Laws.  It includes tables indicating Code sections affected by new legislation, Senate and Assembly bills chaptered into law, and changes in the California Rules of Court.  A cumulative subject index is published in each volume and at the end of the legislative session.

    Library: KFC 30.5 D4 A128 (Calif. Collection, Level 2)
    LexisNexis:  CAL;CAALS (1987 - current session)

Melvyl Library Catalog

Search UCLA Libraries and Beyond

Advanced Search Search with WorldCat