UCLA School of Law | Hugh & Hazel Darling Law Library

ucla-law-logo

National Legal Ethics: Other Sources of Legal Ethics Materials/Citators

This guide provides guidance for locating ABA rules of professional conduct, ABA ethics opinions, and other sources related to legal ethics and legal malpractice.
URL: http://libguides.law.ucla.edu/nationalethics

Useful Links

Other Sources

For other materials on legal ethics and the legal profession, check under these call number ranges:

ABA, National, and General works KF 300-338 (Level M)
Judicial Ethics: KF 8779 (Level 2); KFC 76.5 and KFC 980 (Level 2)

ETHICSearch: ABA Ethics Research Service (restricted to lawyers, law students, law clerks and other legal professionals):

Telephone: 800-285-2221 (option 8) for ETHICSearch, the ABA Center for Professional Responsibility’s ethics research service, staffed by attorneys
E-mail: ethicsearch@staff.abanet.org
Fax: (312) 988-5491 
Address: ETHICSearch
ABA Center for Professional Responsibility
321 N. Clark Street
Chicago, IL 60610

Internet Sources

  1. Cornell Legal Information Institute’s American Legal Ethics Library. Includes state rules or codes, ethics opinions, State American Legal Ethics Library Narratives.

  2. LegalEthics.com. This Web site is focused on the ethical issues associated with the use of technology by legal professionals. It is updated by Professor David Hricik of Mercer University School of Law and Peter Krakaur. Includes links to state ethics rules, regulations, and opinions, plus legally related Internet ethics resources (links to ethics resources is on bottom right).

  3. ABA’s Center for Professional Responsibility. You may also want to visit the ABA Home Page for useful information on the ABA, its publications and services.  The Center for Professional Responsibility page lists some ABA legal ethics publications (e.g. Model Rules, Codes and Ethics Opinions) and provides links to the ABA's web store. The Center's website also contains a list of video tapes which can only be purchased through the Center.

  4. National Organization of Bar Counsel (NOBC). A non-profit organization of legal professionals whose members enforce ethics rules that regulate the professional conduct of lawyers who practice law in the United States, Canada and Australia. The Website includes Ethics Links as well as a database of current developments (search News Archive, under About Us or Current Developments under Cases).

Citators

The Law Library has discontinued its subscription to Shepard’s Professional and Judicial Conduct Citations. The Law Library maintains a LexisNexis subscription to Shepard’s Citations,which is available on public computers 1 and 2 in the Reference Reading Room. Detailed login instructions are located next to these computers. Westlaw provides legal ethics citations through its KeyCite citator service.