Skip to main content

National Legal Ethics: Treatises & Journals

This guide provides guidance for locating ABA rules of professional conduct, ABA ethics opinions, and other sources related to legal ethics and legal malpractice.

Useful Links

Legal Ethics & Legal Malpractice

Restatement (Third) of the Law Governing Lawyers.  American Law Institute, 2000. As its title implies, this project seeks to restate the laws governing lawyers and the practice of law, not only as it is expressed in ethical rules but also in procedural and substantive law (e.g. evidentiary privileges, legal malpractice).

Library: KF 395 G613 A7 2000 (Reserve and on Level M)
Westlaw:  REST-LGOVL database
LexisNexis: 2NDARY;LAWGV3 (case citations)
2NDARY;LAWGV2 (rules section)

Foundations of the Law and Ethics of Lawyering. Foundation Press, Thomson/West, 2004.  A collection of essays/articles on various aspects of professional responsibility and the practice of law. 

Library: KF306 A5 F68 2004 (Level M)

Lawyer Law: Comparing the ABA Model Rules of Professional Conduct with the ALI Restatement (Third) of the Law Governing Lawyers. Thomas Morgan. Chicago, IL: Center for Professional Responsibility, American Bar Association, c2005. The detailed table of contents includes the model rule and restatement provisions that each section of the book covers. There is also a table of cases and an index.

Library: KF 306 M667 2005 (Level M)

Modern Legal Ethics. Charles W. Wolfram.  St. Paul, MN: West Publishing Co, 1986. A comprehensive hornbook that treats many issues of legal ethics.  Student edition is 1114 pages; Practitioner’s edition is 1363 pages.  Both include indexes.

Library: KF 306 W59 1986 (Reserve—specify Student or Practitioner’s edition)

Legal Ethics in a Nutshell. 3rd. ed.   Ronald D. Rotunda & Michael I. Krauss.  St. Paul., MN: Thomson-West, 2007. Includes table of cases and index.

Library: KF 306 Z9 R668 2007 (Reserve)

Legal Malpractice. 2007 ed. Ronald E. Mallen and Jeffrey M. Smith. St. Paul, MN: West Group.  This five-volume set includes bibliographies, a table of cases and an index (in volume 5).  Also includes sample agreements and letters and a table of legal malpractice decisions and articles by jurisdiction.

Library: KF 313 M292 (Current edition on Reserve, previous edition on Level M)
Westlaw: LMAL database

The Georgetown Journal of Legal Ethics.   A law review devoted solely to issues of professional ethics.  First published in summer 1987; volume 5 and 10 contain a cumulative index to articles by title and author.

Library: K 7 E644 (Level 1)
Internet: HeinOnline (volumes 1-19, 1987-2006);
LexisNexis Academic (selected full text from 1998)
(both are restricted to the UCLA Community)
LexisNexis: LAWREV;GJNLE (coverage begins with Winter 1998 to current (from Vol. 11, No. 2))
Westlaw:  GEOJLE database (selected coverage begins with vol. 1 (1987) and full text coverage begins with Vol. 7, no. 3 (1994)