Skip to main content

Secondary & Practice Guides: Privacy/Data Protection

This guide includes the Library's most current, updated secondary and practice guides.
URL: https://libguides.law.ucla.edu/secondarypractice

Privacy/Data Protection

See Also: Internet & Computer Technology Law

CCH financial privacy law guide.  Westlaw subscription database (ID/password required)*

Compilation of state and federal privacy laws. Robert Ellis Smith. (Privacy Journal, c2013- )  KF 1262 .A3 2013

Data breach and encryption handbook. (ABA, Section of Science & Technology Law, 2011)  KF 1263.C65 D37 2011

Data security handbook. (ABA, Section of Antitrust Law, c2008)  KF 1263 .C65 D38 2008

HIPPA: a guide to health care privacy and security law. Lisa M. Boyle. (Aspen, c2002- )  KF 3827 .R4 K59

The information privacy law sourcebook. (ABA, c2012)  KF 1263 .C65 A3 2012

Information security and privacy: a practical guide to federal, state & international law. Westlaw subscription database (ID/password required)*

Information security and privacy: a practical guide for global executives, lawyers and technologists. (ABA Section of Science & Technology Law, c2011)  KF 390.5.C6 I5433 2011

The law of electronic signatures and records. Jeremiah S. Buckley et al. (Glasser LegalWorks, c2004- )  KF 2763.4 .L39

Law of electronic surveillance. (West, 2009- )  KF 9670 .C372 & Westlaw subscription database (ID/password required)*

Law of financial privacy. L. Richard Fischer.  Westlaw subscription database (ID/password required)*

Medical records privacy under HIPAA. N. Peter Lareau. (Matthew Bender)  LexisNexis subscription database (ID/password required)*

Privacy and cybersecurity law deskbook. Lisa J. Sotto (Wolters Kluwer, 2018) Online access via Cheetah

Privacy in employment law, 4th ed. Matthew W. Finkin. (BNA, c2013-)  KF 3457.5 .F56 2013

Privacy, security and information management: an overview. Andrew B. Serwin et al. (ABA, Business Law Section, c2011)  KF 1263 .C65 S47 2011

Privacy torts. David A. Elder. (Thomson West, c2002- )  KF 1262 .E54 2002

Proskauer on privacy: a guide to privacy and data security law in the information age. Kristen J. Mathews. (PLI)  Online access via PLI Plus

The Real ID Act: privacy and government surveillance. William Eyre. (LFB Scholarly Pub., 2011)  KF 4791 .E97 2011

The rights of publicity and privacy. (Thomson West, 2004- )  KF 1262 .R55 (Current edition on Reserve; previous editions in Stacks)

California:

Consumer privacy and identity theft: a summary of key statutes and guide for lawmakers, 3rd ed. Saskia Kim. (California Senate Office of Research, 2008)  Online Access & SRLF

Privacy compliance and litigation in California. Jonathan D. Avila et al. (CEB, c2008- )  KFC 312 .P75

*NOTE: UCLA School of Law provides Bloomberg Law, LexisNexis & Westlaw accounts for UCLA law students, faculty, and staff only.