UCLA School of Law | Hugh & Hazel Darling Law Library

ucla-law-logo

Finding Federal Statutes: Finding Statutes

This guide aims to provide the user with a general understanding in locating and updating known statutes and in identifying federal statutes by citation, name, or subject.
URL: http://libguides.law.ucla.edu/findingfederalstatutes

By Code Cite

Since all three versions of the Code follow the same title and section arrangement, having a citation to any of them allows easy access to other versions.

  1. Lexis Advance: For an immediate viewing of a USCS section, simply enter the citation to the USC section in the search box on the home page, e.g., 42 USC 12101. 
     
  2. WestlawNext: For an immediate viewing of a USCA section, again, simply enter the citation to the USC section, e.g., 42 USC 12101 in the search box on the home page.

By Public Law Cite

Parallel Reference Tables found in the Tables volumes of USC, USCA and USCS are used to convert Public Law numbers and Statutes at Large cites into USC cites. These tables also show the disposition (i.e. repealed, renumbered, etc.) of older Code sections. In addition, tables in Statutes at Large and USCCAN convert bill numbers to Public Law numbers. To convert USC sections to P.L. numbers, see the annotations at the end of the Code section. Westlaw contains one USCA database to assist in this research: USCA-Tables.

By Topic

Many of the sources for federal statutes include detailed subject indexes.

  1. Statutes at Large and USCCAN both contain subject indexes for each legislative session.  These indexes indicate the page on which the text of the legislation can be found.
     
  2. Codes: USC, USCA and USCS all contain general subject indexes found at the end of each set which provide access to all 50 titles of the Code. In addition, USCA and USCS provide subject indexes after each individual title of the Code specifically geared to that title.
     
  3. Online Indexes: Lexis Advance, WestlawNext and the two Internet sites listed above (section I.A.1.) are searchable by keyword.  However, sometimes it is more fruitful to search the online indexes or table of contents to the code which are available on Lexis Advance and WestlawNext.  WestlawNext’s online index is often the best place to start since specific subheadings may be hidden under a very general heading making them difficult to find in a print index but easily retrievable online.  Lexis Advance's Table of Contents file can also be useful.
     
    Lexis Advance:

    Browse Sources > United States Code Service > View table of contents

    WestlawNext:  USCA-IDX database

By Popular Name

Often legislation becomes known by a particular name rather than by its citation.  In addition, newer legislation is often assigned a “short title” by which it becomes known.  When only the name of federal legislation is known, the following sources can provide access:

  1. Popular Name Tables can be found at the end of the general indexes to USC, USCA and USCS.  These tables list federal acts alphabetically by their short titles or common names and provide citations to the appropriate title and section of the Code.
     
  2. Shepard’s Acts and Cases by Popular Name: Federal and State provides references to the common names of both federal and state statutes and cases.  Because of its comprehensive nature, Shepard’s Acts and Cases by Popular Name often lists several citations to a particular name and you must determine which is the appropriate section for your research.
     
    Library:

    KF 90 S52 (Law Library Reference Desk)

  3. USCCAN also provides a popular name table which can be invaluable for locating both recently passed legislation and older statutes by name. Knowing the year or a range of years during which the legislation was passed is necessary to use the USCCAN popular name table.
     
  4. WestlawNext is helpful in locating statutes by their short titles, which are generally included in the wording of the statute. Since popular names are rarely included in the text of the legislation, often a topical, keyword approach is required to locate legislation. WestlawNext offers a popular names table linked below.
     
    WestlawNext:

    USCA-POP database

  5. Check for law review articles.  Indexes are available in print and online.  A law review article on your topic may cite relevant codes and statutes.
     
    • Index to Legal Periodicals (ILP) (print version), 1887- ;
      Index to Legal Periodicals and Books
      , 1981- ;
      Index to Legal Periodicals Retrospective, 1908-1981.
       
      Library: K 33 I56 (Reference Reading Room) 
      Internet:

      Index to Legal Periodicals and Books (from 1981 to the present) (Law School Only)
      Index to Legal Periodicals Retrospective (from 1908 to 1981) (Law School Only)

    • Current Law Index (print version), 1980 - ;
      LegalTrac (or InfoTrac) (Web subscription), 1980- ;
      Legal Resource Index
      (WestlawNext access), 1980-
       
      Library: K 33 C87 (Reference Reading Room)
      WestlawNext:  Legal Resource Index database (from 1980)
      Internet: Legal Trac (Law School Only) (from 1980)