UCLA School of Law | Hugh & Hazel Darling Law Library

ucla-law-logo

Important Information about Access to Databases: Database Access Information

Many resources listed in these guides require UC, UCLA or UCLA Law School IP addresses for access. Other resources, such as Westlaw & LexisNexis, require individual user accounts. Be sure to read this guide before using our other LibGuides.
URL: http://libguides.law.ucla.edu/databaseaccess

LexisNexis, Westlaw & Bloomberg Access

IMPORTANT:  BLOOMBERG LAW, LEXISNEXIS & WESTLAW ARE SUBSCRIPTION SERVICES THAT REQUIRE INDIVIDUAL USER ACCOUNTS FOR ACCESS!

You will see links to Bloomberg, LexisNexis and Westlaw databases throughout our guides, however, according to our contract with these companies, the UCLA Law Library is able to provide these accounts ONLY for UCLA Law Students, Staff and Faculty!  Non-UCLA users should contact the companies directly for access.

Glossary of Terms

IP-restricted Resource: Almost all of the resources licensed for the UC system and UCLA are IP-restricted resources.  You don't need a specific password for each of these resources, but you do need be using a computer on a UCLA network.  If you are off campus, you can use the proxy server or a VPN to give your computer a UCLA IP address.

BruinOnline (BOL) Proxy Server: Provides the UCLA community with access to UC & UCLA IP-restricted resources, by making computers on non-UCLA networks appear to these resources as if they are coming from the UCLA campus.

Virtual Private Network (VPN):  A VPN is a secured private network connection built on top of publicly accessible infrastructure. The VPN provides an alternative to using the proxy server for remote access to campus resources. There are two VPNs available to UCLA Law Students: The Law School VPN and the UCLA Campus VPN.  Mac users need to use the campus VPN as the law school VPN currently does not work with Macs.  To find out more about how VPNs work, view the short, fun video on the right "Virtual Private Matrix."

Using UC, UCLA & UCLA Law Licensed Resources

Some items in these guides are links to UC, UCLA or UCLA Law licensed database resources; these are indicated by notes such as UC only, UCLA Only or UCLA Law School only next to the title. All resources are available through public computers available in the Law Library and through computers signed onto the Law School network using Ethernet connections within the Law School and Library. Most resources are also available when using the campus WIFI, except for those resources noted as UCLA Law School Only. Access instructions for these resources are detailed below.

Follow the link for your user category to determine how best to access our resources.

  1. I am a UCLA Law Student
  2. I am a UCLA Student, Staff or Faculty Member
  3. I am a Public User
  4. I am a UCLA Law Faculty or Staff Member

Follow this link for a complete list of resources that are restricted to the UCLA Law School Community

I am a UCLA Law Student

For On-Campus access to UC & UCLA campus licensed resources:

  1. Use any campus wifi connection: eduroam (preferred) or UCLA_WEB
  2. Use computers in the student computer lab
  3. Use public computers in any campus library

For On-Campus access to UCLA Law Only resources:

  1. If using a campus wifi connection, set up the Law School Student VPN* on your computer. Instructions are on the LawNET MyLaw Site (login required). Contact help@law.ucla.edu or (310) 825-4689 for assistance.
  2. Use an Ethernet connection in the Law Library (See box below for instructions).
  3. Use computers in the student computer lab
  4. Use public computers in the Law Library Only.

For Off-Campus access to ALL licensed resources:

  1. If using a campus wifi connection, set up the Law School Student VPN* on your computer. Instructions are on the LawNET MyLaw Site (login required). Contact help@law.ucla.edu or (310) 825-4689 for assistance.

*Your computer already has a VPN--you just need to take a few steps to configure it for the Law School. Once it's set up, be sure to login to the VPN with your LawNET account before beginning your research.

I am a UCLA Student, Staff or Faculty Member

For On-Campus access to UC & UCLA campus licensed resources:

  1. Use any campus wifi connection: eduroam (preferred) or UCLA_WEB
  2. Use public computers in any campus library.

For On-Campus access to UCLA Law Only resources:

  1. Use an Ethernet connection in the Law Library (See box below for instructions)
  2. Use public computers in the Law Library Only

For Off-Campus access to UC & UCLA campus licensed resources

NOTE: A UCLA Logon ID is required for both options below. If you don't already have one go to: https://logon.ucla.edu to set it up.

  1. Use the Campus VPN. To use the campus VPN, you must first create a  After creating a UCLA Logon ID, follow the instructions on the BruinOnline VPN page. Be sure to login to the VPN with your UCLA Logon ID before beginning your research.
  2. Use the BOL Proxy Server: Follow the instructions on the BOL Proxy Server page. Once this has been set‐up, you will only be prompted to enter your UCLA logon ID and password the first time you need to access a restricted database in any given internet session.

Off-Campus access to UCLA Law Only resources is not available to you.

I am a Public User

For On-Campus access to UC & UCLA campus licensed resources:

  1. Use the UCLA_WEB wifi connection
  2. Use public computers in any campus library.

For On-Campus access to UCLA Law Only resources:

  1. Use an Ethernet connection in the Law Library (See box below for instructions)
  2. Use public computers in the Law Library Only

Off-Campus access to licensed resources is not available to you.

Using an Ethernet Connection in the Law Library

Using an Ethernet connection in the Law Library will give you access to all UC, UCLA and UCLA Law Only licensed resources.

  1. Ethernet cords are available for checkout at the Circulation Desk.
  2. Ethernet ports are available in the wall next to most of our large tables and in many of our study carrels. Look for plates with numbered ports as pictured:
     
    Wall ports                              Carrell port
  3. Be sure to turn off your computer's wifi (instructions below)

PC Instructions for turning off your wifi:

  1. Look for a switch on the side of your computer or a function key for wifi on your keyboard.
  2. Or, click windows key + x to bring up the accessibility window and click "Turn wireless off"

Mac Instructions for turning off your wifi:

In the upper right corner, click on the wifi icon, then click on "Turn Wi-Fi off"

Law Library Digital Resources

The Law Library offers a variety of online resources to assist faculty and students with their research.

Go to Digital Resources List

IMPORTANT: Always use the links in this list for database access. Googling a resource and using the link from the search results won't necessarily login you in properly to that resource.

For UCLA Law Faculty & Staff

UCLA Law Faculty & Staff have access to all UC, UCLA & UCLA Law licensed resources from their office computers connected to the Ethernet.

For Off-Campus Access, use the Law School VPN or Remote Desktop Connection. Instructions are available in the "Remote Access" section of the LawNET IT/AV MyLaw site.

Using CEB's OnLaw

CEB OnLaw contain's full text of many California Continuing Education of the Bar (CEB) publications and treatises.  These titles are available only to the UCLA Law School community. See instructions to the left for access details.

More details on using this resource and available titles is available from the CEB OnLaw page of this guide.

Find us on Facebook!