Jump To: A | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | W
A
Animal Law Research Guide
- Last Updated May 14, 2013
The Animal Law Research Guide provides guidance for students researching animal law and advocacy, as well as the discussion of animals in the fields of philosophy, cultural studies, gender and women's studies, environmental studies, and literary theory.
- Last Updated May 14, 2013
The Animal Law Research Guide provides guidance for students researching animal law and advocacy, as well as the discussion of animals in the fields of philosophy, cultural studies, gender and women's studies, environmental studies, and literary theory.
Arizona and National Immigration Crisis
- Last Updated May 21, 2013
This guide covers Arizona and the nation's immigration crisis. Designed especially for Rebellious Lawyering trainings, the content reflects the work of librarian June Kim, RA Tara Kearns, and Professor Gerald P. López.
- Last Updated May 21, 2013
This guide covers Arizona and the nation's immigration crisis. Designed especially for Rebellious Lawyering trainings, the content reflects the work of librarian June Kim, RA Tara Kearns, and Professor Gerald P. López.
C
California Administrative Law
- Last Updated Apr 13, 2013
This guide provides an overview for researching California administrative or regulatory law in the UCLA Law Library. This guide covers finding, updating and tracking regulations, as well as agency decisions and rulings.
- Last Updated Apr 13, 2013
This guide provides an overview for researching California administrative or regulatory law in the UCLA Law Library. This guide covers finding, updating and tracking regulations, as well as agency decisions and rulings.
California Case Materials Checklist
- Last Updated Aug 14, 2012
This guide is intended to familiarize the user with the California Court structure, publication of California decisions, and resources for finding the text of California cases. Primary sources are listed as well as important Internet links.
- Last Updated Aug 14, 2012
This guide is intended to familiarize the user with the California Court structure, publication of California decisions, and resources for finding the text of California cases. Primary sources are listed as well as important Internet links.
California Legal Ethics
- Last Updated Jun 7, 2011
This guide outlines the state statutes and rules that govern attorney conduct in California. Print and electronic resources are listed as a means to provide the researcher with a general understanding of California legal ethics.
- Last Updated Jun 7, 2011
This guide outlines the state statutes and rules that govern attorney conduct in California. Print and electronic resources are listed as a means to provide the researcher with a general understanding of California legal ethics.
California Legislative Advocacy
- Last Updated Feb 21, 2013
This pathfinder aims to assist researchers in locating materials on the legislative process in California. Researchers will learn how to find and track proposed legislation and how to engage in effective advocacy.
- Last Updated Feb 21, 2013
This pathfinder aims to assist researchers in locating materials on the legislative process in California. Researchers will learn how to find and track proposed legislation and how to engage in effective advocacy.
California Legislative History
- Last Updated Apr 23, 2013
Compiling a California legislative history can be time-consuming. This Guide is intended to help you through the process of examining legislative intent by taking you step-by-step through the sources of CA legislative intent in our library and online.
- Last Updated Apr 23, 2013
Compiling a California legislative history can be time-consuming. This Guide is intended to help you through the process of examining legislative intent by taking you step-by-step through the sources of CA legislative intent in our library and online.
Career Planning, Job Search and more for Law Students
- Last Updated May 2, 2013
Developed in conjunction with the UCLA Office of Career Services, this guide is designed to assist law students in career planning, job hunting, interviewing and making the transition into the practice of law.
- Last Updated May 2, 2013
Developed in conjunction with the UCLA Office of Career Services, this guide is designed to assist law students in career planning, job hunting, interviewing and making the transition into the practice of law.
Cite Checking Resources
- Last Updated Jul 6, 2012
This guide is designed to help law students start their first cite checking assignment, and is also intended to be a reference that students can return to at anytime for assistance with typical cite checking questions.
- Last Updated Jul 6, 2012
This guide is designed to help law students start their first cite checking assignment, and is also intended to be a reference that students can return to at anytime for assistance with typical cite checking questions.
Court Rules
- Last Updated Dec 6, 2011
This guide provides a list of print and online sources sources for court rules available in the UCLA Law Library.
- Last Updated Dec 6, 2011
This guide provides a list of print and online sources sources for court rules available in the UCLA Law Library.
D
Depublication of California Court of Appeal Decisions
- Last Updated Jun 11, 2012
This guide provides pertinent information regarding the rules for publication of appellate court opinions as well as information on how to determine whether a particular appellate case can be cited as legal authority.
- Last Updated Jun 11, 2012
This guide provides pertinent information regarding the rules for publication of appellate court opinions as well as information on how to determine whether a particular appellate case can be cited as legal authority.
E
Employment Law: Federal and California Sources
- Last Updated May 15, 2012
This guide includes general secondary sources and online government resources. Specialized topics include employment discrimination & harassment, wage & hour law, employee privacy, independent contractors, and workers' compensation.
- Last Updated May 15, 2012
This guide includes general secondary sources and online government resources. Specialized topics include employment discrimination & harassment, wage & hour law, employee privacy, independent contractors, and workers' compensation.
English Legal Materials
- Last Updated Apr 4, 2012
A guide to researching English cases and statutes, both current and historical.
- Last Updated Apr 4, 2012
A guide to researching English cases and statutes, both current and historical.
F
Federal Administrative Law
- Last Updated May 11, 2012
A guide to locating regulations, agency decisions and Presidential documents available in the UCLA Law Library and Online.
- Last Updated May 11, 2012
A guide to locating regulations, agency decisions and Presidential documents available in the UCLA Law Library and Online.
Federal Case Materials Checklist
- Last Updated Mar 20, 2013
This guide is intended to familiarize the user with the U.S. court structure, publication of federal decisions, and finding the text of federal cases. Primary sources are listed throughout this document, as well as some important Internet sites.
- Last Updated Mar 20, 2013
This guide is intended to familiarize the user with the U.S. court structure, publication of federal decisions, and finding the text of federal cases. Primary sources are listed throughout this document, as well as some important Internet sites.
Federal Legislative History
- Last Updated Mar 11, 2013
This research guide provides assistance to UCLA School of Law students tracing the legislative history of a federal statute.
- Last Updated Mar 11, 2013
This research guide provides assistance to UCLA School of Law students tracing the legislative history of a federal statute.
Federal Tax Research: Documents & Resources
- Last Updated Oct 3, 2012
This guide describes the main types of federal tax documents and indicates the most common resources for locating them.
- Last Updated Oct 3, 2012
This guide describes the main types of federal tax documents and indicates the most common resources for locating them.
Finding California Statutes
- Last Updated Jun 11, 2012
This guide outlines resources for California statutory materials, such as statutes, codes, initiatives, referenda, uncodified statutes and superceded law available in the UCLA Law Libray as well as online.
- Last Updated Jun 11, 2012
This guide outlines resources for California statutory materials, such as statutes, codes, initiatives, referenda, uncodified statutes and superceded law available in the UCLA Law Libray as well as online.
Finding Federal Statutes
- Last Updated Mar 20, 2013
This guide aims to provide the user with a general understanding in locating and updating known statutes and in identifying federal statutes by citation, name, or subject.
- Last Updated Mar 20, 2013
This guide aims to provide the user with a general understanding in locating and updating known statutes and in identifying federal statutes by citation, name, or subject.
Full-text historical U.S. & English electronic sources
- Last Updated Mar 15, 2011
The main part of this guide lists full-text searchable databases of historical U.S. and English legal and non-legal sources. The smaller boxes include links to research guides, government sites, databases indexes, and other Internet sources.
- Last Updated Mar 15, 2011
The main part of this guide lists full-text searchable databases of historical U.S. and English legal and non-legal sources. The smaller boxes include links to research guides, government sites, databases indexes, and other Internet sources.
G
Guide for First Year Law Students
- Last Updated May 8, 2013
This guide provides resources to help first year law students get started with Law School and become more familiar with the Law Library, UCLA and Westwood.
- Last Updated May 8, 2013
This guide provides resources to help first year law students get started with Law School and become more familiar with the Law Library, UCLA and Westwood.
H
How to Find a Case by Name or Topic Using Print Sources
- Last Updated May 1, 2013
This guide will take you through finding cases by Name or Topic using the print resources available in the UCLA Law Library. Numerous online sources exist for locating cases. Vist our guides on California and Federal Case Materials for details.
- Last Updated May 1, 2013
This guide will take you through finding cases by Name or Topic using the print resources available in the UCLA Law Library. Numerous online sources exist for locating cases. Vist our guides on California and Federal Case Materials for details.
How to Find Law and Non-Legal Journal & News Articles Online
- Last Updated Jan 18, 2013
This guide will provide instructions on how to find law review and journal articles, non-legal journal articles, legal news articles, and general news articles.
- Last Updated Jan 18, 2013
This guide will provide instructions on how to find law review and journal articles, non-legal journal articles, legal news articles, and general news articles.
How to Read a Legal Citation
- Last Updated May 1, 2013
A guide to deciphering those cryptic legal citations.
- Last Updated May 1, 2013
A guide to deciphering those cryptic legal citations.
I
Immigration Law Research Guide
- Last Updated Jan 15, 2013
Provides general and specialized sources for researching U.S. immigration law, including online government resources, statutes, regulations & case law, plus general and specialized secondary sources and immigration-related organizations.
- Last Updated Jan 15, 2013
Provides general and specialized sources for researching U.S. immigration law, including online government resources, statutes, regulations & case law, plus general and specialized secondary sources and immigration-related organizations.
Important Information about Access to Databases
- Last Updated Apr 15, 2013
Many resources listed in these guides require UC, UCLA or UCLA Law School IP addresses for access. Other resources, such as Westlaw & LexisNexis, require individual user accounts. Be sure to read this guide before using our other LibGuides.
- Last Updated Apr 15, 2013
Many resources listed in these guides require UC, UCLA or UCLA Law School IP addresses for access. Other resources, such as Westlaw & LexisNexis, require individual user accounts. Be sure to read this guide before using our other LibGuides.
L
Law & Philosophy Reading Room Collection
- Last Updated May 21, 2013
This Collection is non-circulating and is for the exclusive use of the UCLA Law & Philosophy Program students and faculty. The Law & Philosophy Reading Room is located in Room 3112R of the Hugh & Hazel Darling Law Library.
- Last Updated May 21, 2013
This Collection is non-circulating and is for the exclusive use of the UCLA Law & Philosophy Program students and faculty. The Law & Philosophy Reading Room is located in Room 3112R of the Hugh & Hazel Darling Law Library.
Law & Popular Culture Video Collection
- Last Updated May 4, 2012
These DVDs are available for check out to UCLA Law Students, Faculty and Staff. Click on the title link for circulation status.
- Last Updated May 4, 2012
These DVDs are available for check out to UCLA Law Students, Faculty and Staff. Click on the title link for circulation status.
Law Library Digital Resources
- Last Updated May 15, 2013
The Law Library offers a variety of online resources to assist faculty and students with their research.
- Last Updated May 15, 2013
The Law Library offers a variety of online resources to assist faculty and students with their research.
Library Guide for 1Ls and UCLAW Students Writing a Research Paper
- Last Updated Dec 13, 2012
This guide was created for the 1Ls in Law 108: Lawyering Skills, as an introduction to library and law-specific resources.
- Last Updated Dec 13, 2012
This guide was created for the 1Ls in Law 108: Lawyering Skills, as an introduction to library and law-specific resources.
M
Mobile Applications for Law Students and Lawyers
- Last Updated May 6, 2013
Provides information about current mobile applications that might be of interest to law students and lawyers. Download links for apps are provided for Android, iPhone, iPod Touch, iPad, Blackberry, Palm, and other devices. Check back often for new apps!
- Last Updated May 6, 2013
Provides information about current mobile applications that might be of interest to law students and lawyers. Download links for apps are provided for Android, iPhone, iPod Touch, iPad, Blackberry, Palm, and other devices. Check back often for new apps!
MyLaw Help
- Last Updated Jan 9, 2013
This guide is designed to provide help using MyLaw to the UCLA School of Law community.
- Last Updated Jan 9, 2013
This guide is designed to provide help using MyLaw to the UCLA School of Law community.
N
National Legal Ethics
- Last Updated Jan 25, 2013
This guide provides guidance for locating ABA rules of professional conduct, ABA ethics opinions, and other sources related to legal ethics and legal malpractice.
- Last Updated Jan 25, 2013
This guide provides guidance for locating ABA rules of professional conduct, ABA ethics opinions, and other sources related to legal ethics and legal malpractice.
Native American Law Guide: Federal Indian Law & Tribal Law Materials
- Last Updated May 17, 2013
Covers both tribal law sources, including tribal constitutions, tribal codes and tribal court decisions, and federal law sources, including treaties.
- Last Updated May 17, 2013
Covers both tribal law sources, including tribal constitutions, tribal codes and tribal court decisions, and federal law sources, including treaties.
Newspapers in the United States
- Last Updated Mar 15, 2013
This LibGuide provides a comprehensive state-by-state list of historical, contemporary, and current United States newspapers, with an emphasis on resources available online and in the UCLA Library collection.
- Last Updated Mar 15, 2013
This LibGuide provides a comprehensive state-by-state list of historical, contemporary, and current United States newspapers, with an emphasis on resources available online and in the UCLA Library collection.
O
Online Legal Research: Beyond LexisNexis & Westlaw
- Last Updated Apr 24, 2013
This Guide describes a wide range of online legal research resources. It covers primary law, government resources, research guides, reference sources, forms, and legal news.
- Last Updated Apr 24, 2013
This Guide describes a wide range of online legal research resources. It covers primary law, government resources, research guides, reference sources, forms, and legal news.
P
Preparing for the California Bar Exam and MPRE
- Last Updated May 6, 2013
This California Bar Exam guide provides an overview of steps law students can take to prepare for the California Bar Exam and the MPRE. Information regarding deadlines, topics covered on the California Bar Exam, and other helpful resources are provided.
- Last Updated May 6, 2013
This California Bar Exam guide provides an overview of steps law students can take to prepare for the California Bar Exam and the MPRE. Information regarding deadlines, topics covered on the California Bar Exam, and other helpful resources are provided.
Public Health Law Seminar Research Guide
- Last Updated Jan 18, 2013
Created for Amira Hasenbush's Winter 2013 class.
- Last Updated Jan 18, 2013
Created for Amira Hasenbush's Winter 2013 class.
R
Researching Foreign Law: An Introduction
- Last Updated Apr 30, 2013
An introductory guide to finding the laws of foreign jurisdictions.
- Last Updated Apr 30, 2013
An introductory guide to finding the laws of foreign jurisdictions.
Researching Public International Law
- Last Updated May 1, 2013
An introductory guide to researching public international law as defined by Article 38 of the ICJ statute.
- Last Updated May 1, 2013
An introductory guide to researching public international law as defined by Article 38 of the ICJ statute.
Researching the European Union: A Beginner's Guide
- Last Updated Jan 25, 2013
An introductory research guide covering European Union materials.
- Last Updated Jan 25, 2013
An introductory research guide covering European Union materials.
Researching United Nations Materials
- Last Updated Jan 25, 2013
An introductory guide to finding United Nations documents and International case law.
- Last Updated Jan 25, 2013
An introductory guide to finding United Nations documents and International case law.
Resolving Problems with UCLA Law School Audio & Video Files
- Last Updated May 14, 2013
Having trouble opening audio and video files of lectures on MyLaw or from elsewhere on the Law School's Website? Follow these simple steps to fix the problem...
- Last Updated May 14, 2013
Having trouble opening audio and video files of lectures on MyLaw or from elsewhere on the Law School's Website? Follow these simple steps to fix the problem...
S
Secondary & Practice Guides
- Last Updated Feb 25, 2013
This guide includes the Library's most current, updated secondary and practice guides.
- Last Updated Feb 25, 2013
This guide includes the Library's most current, updated secondary and practice guides.
T
Thinking About Law School: Resources in the UCLA Law Library for Undergraduates
- Last Updated May 22, 2013
Materials for the pre-law student.
- Last Updated May 22, 2013
Materials for the pre-law student.
Tower Reading Room Collection
- Last Updated May 13, 2013
The Law Library Tower Reading Room houses the Recreational Reading Collection for exclusive use of UCLA Law Students, Faculty & Staff.
- Last Updated May 13, 2013
The Law Library Tower Reading Room houses the Recreational Reading Collection for exclusive use of UCLA Law Students, Faculty & Staff.
U
UCLA School of Law Legal Research and Writing Guide
- Last Updated May 13, 2013
This Guide provides basic research and writing guidance for UCLA School of Law students beginning their legal careers.
- Last Updated May 13, 2013
This Guide provides basic research and writing guidance for UCLA School of Law students beginning their legal careers.
UCLA School of Law, Law Library Copyright Guidelines
- Last Updated May 13, 2013
These copyright guidelines are provided to assist the faculty and staff of the UCLA School of Law in assessing the use, dissemination, and reproduction of copyrighted materials for educational purposes.
- Last Updated May 13, 2013
These copyright guidelines are provided to assist the faculty and staff of the UCLA School of Law in assessing the use, dissemination, and reproduction of copyrighted materials for educational purposes.
United States Bilateral Treaties
- Last Updated Mar 4, 2010
A guide to locating and updating U.S. Bilateral Treaties using materials available in the UCLA Law Library, as well as online.
- Last Updated Mar 4, 2010
A guide to locating and updating U.S. Bilateral Treaties using materials available in the UCLA Law Library, as well as online.
Using Online Resources to Find Non-Legal Journal Articles
- Last Updated May 1, 2013
This is a brief guide to searching for online articles using resources available at UCLA.
- Last Updated May 1, 2013
This is a brief guide to searching for online articles using resources available at UCLA.
W
Williams Institute Reading Room
- Last Updated May 13, 2013
A guide to resources in the Williams Institute Reading Room, part of the Williams Institute on Sexual Orientation Law and Public Policy at the UCLA School of Law.
- Last Updated May 13, 2013
A guide to resources in the Williams Institute Reading Room, part of the Williams Institute on Sexual Orientation Law and Public Policy at the UCLA School of Law.
Important Summer Research Information
UCLA Law Students and Recent Grads should visit the "Summer Info" page for details about summer access to Lexis, Westlaw and free alternatives.
Receive Email Updates
Featured Librarian |

